Skip to content

Writing a Series

September 19, 2009

inky-girl1

Comic by InkyGirl: Daily Diversions for Writers

Tell me writers, have you ever felt this way about a book series? If so, which one? And why do you think that particular series sucked you in?

Have you ever entertained the idea of writing a series?

I’m seriously thinking about writing a series of short stories starring one (or two) main characters for this year’s National Novel Writing Month. I’ve always wanted to try it.

In fact, I read a book in one of my college literature classes that had a similar format – it was a series of short stories, with one main character and somehow, the author wove them all into one complete story.

I remember the structure of this book, but for the life of me, I can’t remember the book.

How pathetic is that?

But it left a lasting impression on me and that’s what I’d like to do with this year’s NaNoWriMo challenge. The trick, of course, is trying to weave all of the mini-stories into one. I don’t know how successful I will be, but I’m really looking forward to tackling the challenge.

NaNoWriMo participants: Have you given much thought about what you’re going to write this year?

Karen is the mysterious admin behind Write Anything and occasionally likes to make an appearance just to shake things up. She also has an unhealthy attachment to the NaNoWriMo project. When Karen’s not haunting WA, she’s hanging out over at Write From Karen.
6 Comments
  1. September 19, 2009 10:56 am

    This will be my first NaNoWriMo adventure. I have been getting to know my characters and thinking about the setting. Mostly, though, I’ve been wondering whether I can actually write 50,000 words in a month. It will be difficult to do with all my fingers crossed.

  2. September 19, 2009 1:10 pm

    Speaking as a four-time NaNoWriMo player, pace yourself. Seriously. Pick a time of day (whether that’s getting up an hour early or staying up an hour later) and don’t get up until you’ve written 1,667 words (which is what it works out to be every day in order to make 50,000 words by November 30th).

    And don’t think too much about what you’re writing. The whole point of the exercise is to kick your inner critic to the curb. He/she can make an appearance December 1st. In the meantime, the critic is on vacation.

    Good luck! The Write Anything gang will have a forum on the NaNoWriMo site. I’ll post a link to that after the NaNo folks open up the site for this year (October 1st).

  3. September 19, 2009 1:29 pm

    I’ve participated (and won) the last two NaNos– one in ’07 where I started the novel I’m finishing up now, ’08 for a blind 3rd draft of the same story. This year’s project, though? This year I’ll finally be writing the idea that I’d wanted to do in ’07 in the first place.

    I’ve not done any world building, aside from a steampunk flavor. I’ve got the setup, and all the main characters (old favorites that I developed years ago), but not the complete plot. I even put a NaNo plan on my blog. … Now I just want the site to roll over so I can clean out last year’s project.

  4. September 19, 2009 4:17 pm

    This will be my first NaNoWriMo. I discovered it too late last year to take part.
    I’m still deciding between a novel I’ve been meaning to write for ages now, or something autobiographical – I’ve had quite a bit of not so nice stuff in my life in the last couple of years and I’ve also been meaning to put it into some kind of story form for ages.

  5. September 20, 2009 2:01 am

    I wrote a series of inter-twining short stories set in the same universe. The idea was that most of them could stand alone, but reading several would flesh out the setting and focus on things that were background in others. In the end, I scrapped most of them and ended up combining several into one shortish story.

    I did have planned a seven book fantasy series. I even wrote the first draft of the first book. It ended up feeling like the first book was one long prologue to the action that would start in the second book. I still like it and I have so much knowledge in my head about the world and the stories that I keep thinking I should revisit that series.

    I think my Nano will be a slight bending of the rules. I’m currently about 35000 words into a novel and don’t want to set it aside for a whole month. So my Nano goal will be to write another 50000 words to this one that I’ve already started.

  6. September 22, 2009 1:09 am

    That sounds impressive Karen. I’ve considered doing a series vaguely but considering I’m working on finishing one novel, that might have to be something in the future.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

