Skip to content

Don’t panic

November 8, 2009

A timely reminder for all those taking part in NaNoWriMo…

Tate Britain

Relax. Breathe. It isn’t over yet. For those on target, congratulations, keep going. For those falling behind – you have plenty of time to catch up.

For those not taking part – we appreciate the sympathy….

Writing longhand is a liberating way of taking part in NaNoWriMo, as I can now write anywhere at any time. But it means I have absolutely no idea what my word count is…
6 Comments
  1. November 8, 2009 5:03 am

    Sometimes, I think writing longhand is an advantage. Sure you don’t know your word court, but that frees you from the pressure of typing just to meet the daily word goal. I think a lot of participants forget that.

    I’m still way below mine, but I’m taking it one day at a time. :D

  2. November 8, 2009 6:06 am

    I’ll save up the panic for the other creative projects I’m associated with this month … because I’m a nut who thinks NaNo is not enough stress in one month :)

    Go the long hand!!!

  3. November 8, 2009 9:15 am

    Paul,

    As someone who did one of my NaNos longhand here’s what you do for word count (IF you actually want to know). Take a sampling of pages, 5 for instance. Pick 5 with a representative amount of crossed out words. Have someone else count the words (so it doesn’t take up your writing time) to get an average words per page. Then you can get your word count without a big time consuming physical count.

  4. November 8, 2009 11:57 am

    I plan on saving my panic for November 28th – THEN I’ll panic. :D

    And long-hand? Seriously, dude, you’re my hero. I can’t imagine doing this in long-hand.

    Except maybe in a nightmare. lol

  5. November 9, 2009 9:09 pm

    Far out!!!! not sure if I need to applaud or come and slap you round the head. For anyone who has been unlucky enough to befall the horrors of my handwriting, firstly I say I’m sorry – but secondly – if I did that, I would have no idea what I have just written – much less the scrawl from a day ago. thank goodness for spellchecker as my typing is just as bad – but at least the letters are uniformly shaped.

  6. November 9, 2009 9:24 pm

    something that tickled my fancy ( whilst procrastinating) is the NaNo tradition of the Travelling Shovel of Death. apart from a charming tradition and cause of much insider mirth, it will help with your word count, bring suspense, conflict and new characters into your story…….and that can’t be a bad thing… for more info check out the forums – or go directly to this FAQ on it.

    http://www.nanowrimo.org/node/3266137

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

