Skip to content

Some Fears Don’t Go Away

April 22, 2010

I often find myself doubting my choice of being a writer. Is it really what I want? Am I good enough to be in this business? Have I wasted about thirteen years of my life on something that isn’t my true passion? These are the type of questions that sometimes haunt me on a daily basis.

I remember watching Sister Act 2 and there was this one part where a book called Letters to a Poet by: Rainer Maria Rilke was brought up. The piece of advice that Whoopie Goldberg’s character gave was “if you wake up and all you can think about is writing then you’re a writer.” For some reason, every time I have doubts, I refer back to that one scene. It’s almost like it’s a Golden Rule and I’m deathly afraid of breaking it.

I’m beginning to realize that I’m not alone. We all have doubts with every rejection letter we receive or experiences with writers block. Writing is a risky business and fears are apart of it. You have to develop ways to move past it.

I think it helps to have a writing buddy to talk you through it and get you past your phobia. We could all use support at times. I’m grateful for all the support I have received over the years. I don’t think I would have reached this point without it.

But the fears will never go away. They lurk until finding the next doubt-ridden moment.

What are some of your writing fears?

The above article is one I wrote almost three years ago as a guest writer here before moving up to a regular. I wanted to revisit the topic. The words are truer than they were back then. Every writer has a fear which may or may not hold them back from their absolute potential.

The fears I hold today are not the same ones as before. I’m no longer afraid of rejection as I have received stacks of them. My writing breathes more and more confidence, the more I do. My author social circle continues to grow, making it easier not to doubt my skills.

While I’ve achieved some sort of enlightenment with a few fears, others still hover over me like a dark cloud. These are likely the ones that will stick with me on a more permanent basis. And yet the thought is not frightening in itself. I feel having them close by will keep me humble to any new experience.

Compare your writing life from three years ago to this day. How much have your fears changed since then? Do you feel better off with or without them?

Andrea Allison is thankful for every tiny fear she has ever had as they continue to inspire her. Fears are a part of life and you can get a whiff of hers at Southern Writemares.
3 Comments
  1. April 22, 2010 4:02 am

    Just a question. Can you really say that all you think of during your hours awake is writing? I’ve heard this sort of thing before, but I think if we take it seriously then it can be damaging. Okay, you’re a writer and your love of writing keeps you wanting to write – that’s fine. But you’re also a human being with other needs and wishes. And I find off the cuff statements like the one from this film can do more harm than good. However, I do agree that your love for writing is what pushes you on when the rejection letters flow and the going gets tough.

  2. April 22, 2010 7:49 am

    Thank you for this Andrea. I’ve been doing a bit of a review of my writing life in the last few days… and the topic of fears is certainly one which also needs to be explored. Now to give it some thought.

    I love the blog posts which Mercury Retrograde kicks up.

  3. April 22, 2010 10:43 pm

    This is a really interesting question.

    I guess one of my fears is not ever getting enough time to dedicate my life to the craft, to finish projects and dedicate enough time to editing them to the point of publication.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

