Skip to content

Website Fashion Show

May 27, 2010

I updated my website last year prior to Nano. I neglected it for a while and in the process of revision realized just how much. I’m not much of an expert concerning web design nor have the money to pay someone for their services. So, right now my site may scream FREE but it’s nice, simple and not a train wreck. It suits me for now.

However, I’m always trying to think of ways to improve. One thing I realized is going the cheap way is not the end of the world especially when the alternative means you may have to come out of pocket in the thousands of dollars range. Some rich and famous writers can afford that price tag but not me. Even the dollar amounts attached to web design software makes me sweat. Free web building sites like Bravenet and Freewebs have provided easy steps, templates and various other services to accommodate a techie amateur such as myself.

Some must haves on your site include a bio, credits, contact info, etc. But some writers go the extra mile, give it a special touch. For example, giveaways, graphics, etc. Really put much thought in to the overall design. What do you think makes your website stand out? What do you wish you could change about it? What about author websites that turn your off the most? When you visit your favorite authors site, what features stand out the most? the least?

Show off your virtual creations!

Andrea apologizes for the near repeat this week but wasn’t feeling entirely inspired to create new words of wisdom.
4 Comments
  1. May 27, 2010 1:23 am

    True, flashy websites do get noticed quicker in our image oriented world but what really counts is the content. That’s what makes people come back time and again.

  2. May 27, 2010 9:28 am

    There are plenty of free website and blog hosting services available. Personally, I’m a fan of WordPress. There are hundreds of free templates to help give you the look and functionality you want out of your site.

    I think there is truth in the fact that a decent looking and easy to use website or blog is important. No matter how much we hate to admit it many people will still judge a book by it’s cover, so to speak. A good looking site is like our opening sentences. It has to hook our potential readers, drawing them into the site and making them want to read. Then, as Paul said, the content is what brings them back time and again.

  3. May 27, 2010 12:59 pm

    To be honest, I don’t care much about how the website looks, but whether or not I can interact with the author and other readers. Everything else is just an icing on the cake. And hey, templates are there to be used, so why not?

  4. May 29, 2010 12:15 pm

    My sites are a mix of free and DIY. I paid for the domains and I ended up buying a WP template for one blog. But, I do my own drawings and photos and I make daily posts to the main blog. Now and then I get behind.

    I think drawing adds a lot more unique content and a personal feeling to the blog. I’d like to do more of it but really only get time to draw a new header now and then.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

