Skip to content

The Message is Part of You

April 21, 2006

Guest Writer  I’d like to extend a warm welcome to Benjamin, one of Write Stuff’s guest writers. If you would like to read more of Benjamin’s work, please visit his blog at Benjamin Solah: Writer and Revolutionary. To learn more about Benjamin, please click here.

______________________________ 

Writers are never just writers. We’re mums, dads, sons, daughters, workers and students. What we do and our relationships shape our views on things and you’d be mad if you thought it wouldn’t affect your writing. As well as a writer, I’m a Marxist. Whether Marxism is popular or not, its messages will still be in my writing. I’m not preaching my ideas, but I can’t escape the way I see the world in order to fit some market. It affects the way I portray certain people and certain events. As a horror writer, I portray violent, scary and graphic events. Add to that Marxism and it usually means my villains are members of the government or capitalists. I really don’t know how this sits with other people, but it’s not something I’m not about to change.

Writers in the same vein, like John Steinbeck often find they cut their market off. I don’t think it concerns them because their motives for being a writer aren’t concerned with being the next celebrity. I write to express myself. I write to portray a message without preaching but at the same time, not pulling any punches. It’s a touchy subject. I’m an anti-capitalist writer in a publishing world so concerned with marketing and niches. I suppose it’s a matter of ignoring the setbacks and just writing what you need to write. In the end, I’ll hopefully find a publisher willing to take on the next series of Marxist horror tales. Don’t laugh; stranger things have been published.

3 Comments
  1. April 21, 2006 12:27 pm

    I still believe that if the story is compelling enough, people will be interested in reading it–no matter what the viewpoint is.

  2. April 21, 2006 2:08 pm

    It’s true. It’s hard to keep yourself out of your writing. Your background, your views, your opinions are bound to show up there somewhere. The trick is to keep the story grounded and not place it on a soapbox.

  3. April 21, 2006 5:11 pm

    I have self-published two books, and have a third now at the graphic artist’s. It’s one way to go, and I believe I have had fair success with my books.

    I wish you well with your projects.

    blessings,

    Shirley

Comments are closed.

