Skip to content

A cup o’ kindness

December 30, 2007

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind ?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
and auld lang syne ?

This time last year, I was struggling to come up with a dissertation proposal for a research project of little interest to anyone but myself (the effects of indoctrination and narcotics on the mens rea requirement of war crimes in the modern laws of armed conflict, if you’re interested…).

One year on, I’m putting the finishing touches to my final writing column of the year. I’m half way through my first novel. In the coming year I’ve got a script project I’m working on with a US author. I’m hoping, maybe, to try to find an agent by the end of the year. And of course, I’ve made a lot of new friends, people I didn’t even know existed this time last year.

Karen, Janie, Dale, Tammi and Andrea, the weekly writers on the Write Stuff. The [Fiction] Friday participants, like Square1, Jodi, paisley and pjd to name just a very few. The crazy and dedicated authors who kept me going through NaNoWriMo (including many of those already named above, but others including Renate and wanderlust8). My good friend Ian, a poet of remarkable talent, but who rarely shows his work. Jay and Grace who convinced me to concentrate on The Long Watch first, as it had the most potential.

At this time of year, we sing Auld Lang Syne, and recall our past friendships. These are the friendships that I made this year, people who have given me confidence in my voice, in my words, in my own imagination. I look forward to these new acquaintances becoming auld acquaintances in the future, ones who will never be forgot.

Happy new year everyone. I wish you all a prosperous, happy and successful 2008 in all your endeavours, domestic, business or creative.

2 Comments
  1. December 31, 2007 10:10 am

    Paul,

    We’re thrilled you joined the Write Stuff team. You have injected an additional element of enthusiasm and professionalism and I know I speak for all of us when I say you’re a valuable addition to the team.

    I’m really looking forward to reading more of your work in the new year and I pray that your personal, professional and creative lives are productive and successful.

    Thank you so much for you time and your talents.🙂

  2. December 31, 2007 11:41 am

    Thanks Karen – I am still flabbergasted that you guys picked me (working on self-esteem issues will feature in my new year resolutions😉 ).

    Getting ready for the new year now – champagne (courtesy of the law firm I work for) is on ice, I just hope we’re healthy enough to stay up until midnight!

    Hope everyone has a great time, and good luck for 2008.

Comments are closed.

