Skip to content

A Call for Ideas

July 19, 2008

*blinkblink*

It’s Saturday? Already?! How did that happen?

My apologizes for not posting sooner. I think it just NOW dawned on me that it was the weekend. Not that this week went by fast or anything, quite the contrary, but that it’s my turn to post something and I’m not prepared – obviously.

Argh. I’m brain dead today. So I need you guys to help me do my thinking for me.

Ideas I have two ideas swirling around in my head for this blog. But I’m not quite sure how to go about either of them – hence the reason I need your help.

Are you ready? Now is a GREAT chance to share your thoughts about something new and exciting – brace yourself.🙂

Idea #1:

In October: A week (or two, depending on demand and material) of virtual workshops to help writers prepare for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). The thing is, what sort of things would you like to cover? How to generate ideas? Plot tips? Character development? Would any of you be willing to run a workshop? I’m completely open to ideas here. If you’ve participated in NaNoWriMo before, what sort of things have you done to prepare? Care to share your secrets? First-time NaNoWriMos, what are some of the things you’d like to discuss and/or learn about getting started on something this big? Speak! We will listen.🙂

EDITED: I can’t take credit for this idea – Dale is actually the person who came up with this idea. He’s FULL of ideas. Thank you, Dale!

Idea #2:

Four times a year (quarterly): I got this idea from Chapter Bytes and from Paul’s post about his collaborative project, The Astonishing Adventures of Captain Juan. To be perfectly honest, I’ve been thinking about trying something like this for quite some time, I just wasn’t sure how to go about it until I saw the above mentioned links.

It’s a collaborative story, written by seven writers and posted for one week here on Write Anything once every quarter. I figure this would be a great break in our posting schedule, give our weekly writers a much needed week off from posting, AND be something entertaining and fun to read for our visitors.

I’d like to structure it so that the writers involved with that quarter’s story wrote their contribution ahead of time as opposed to just winging it when the time came to contribute. Two reasons:

1. Time. None of us have the luxury of carving out a pocket of time to write “on-the-fly” and things are constantly coming up that might prevent one writer from contributing leaving me in a panic because I wouldn’t have anyone to fill in the story hole.

2. Time. It would give the writer(s) involved with the project time to stew over the story and produce a more quality contribution, thereby a better quality story.

Notice a reccurring theme here? *grin*

In essence, one writer (and I’m including myself in on this project because I’ve never done anything like this and I’m REALLY looking forward to the challenge) would start the story. Then, the next writer scheduled to write would read that contribution, and write his/her contribution … and so on until all seven “chapters” were written.

Then, at the designated time, I would post all seven excerpts on seven days of the agreed upon date here on Write Anything. I would also turn the completed story into a .pdf file and post it to Scribd for many more writers to read and enjoy.

This would be an EXCELLENT opportunity for all writers from every expertise level. As Paul said in his post:

It can shake you out of complacency, drive you on to better your craft, and force you to set aside your ego, in order to let the characters come to the fore.

I’m ready to shake things up, are you?

My question is: Should I hold some sort of contest to decide who the seven writers will be? Or should it be an invitation only sort of thing? Should I just randomly pick from a list of interested writers? Or should we vote from a list of interested writers? What do you think?

In addition to the above mentioned ideas, I’m completely open to any other ideas you may have about this blog. What would you like to see more of? Polls? How to articles? Personal antidotes? Links to writing resources? All of the above? There are no wrong or right answers here, anything goes. Just comment on the first thing that comes to your mind. It’s likely someone will take that idea and run with it – hence the beauty of a blog community.🙂

One final note:

Next Saturday is “Say it On Saturday.” This means that it’s open mic day at Write Anything. If you’re a wordpress.com user (and if you’re not, you can register for an account at wordpress.com, if you register, you’ll need to send the email address you used to sign up with to me (Karen) at writestuffwriters AT yahoo DOT com so I can add you to the blog), all you have to do is sign onto your account, click on “Write Anything” in your dashboard, write a post, and then publish it. That’s it. Your article will appear immediately.

Say it on Saturday is a chance to share your writing triumphs and woes with us. Or, you could post an excerpt of something you’re working on and ask for feedback. Or, if you have found some valuable websites about writing or wish to just point us to a blogger whose writing has moved you, feel free to do that, too. Anything goes – within reason. This is a PG-rated blog so a bit of language is allowed, but don’t get carried away. Do not link to offensive material – I shouldn’t have to define that – we’re all adults here. Basically, if you wouldn’t want it on your blog, then please, do not post it to this blog.

I would also like to disclose the fact that everyone is welcome to post on Write Anything, but I (Karen, the admin) reserve the right to edit and/or delete any post I deem inappropriate at any time and without any warning. I hate to be a killjoy, but my main goal is to make this blog fun, entertaining and informative for everyone to enjoy.

Other than that? Go crazy.😀

2 Comments
  1. July 19, 2008 3:51 pm

    Idea #1
    Is it perhaps worthwhile for us weekly writers to ensure that for the one (or two?) weeks in October that the workshop is planned for, we write on NaNo-relevant topics? They could be “workshops” after a fashion. I’m not sure how else a workshop would be carried out now that we don’t have a chat room. Perhaps a group chat on MSN, or conference on Yahoo?

    Idea #2
    I think this is a great idea and would love to hear some new voices. Doing it in advance is a good idea, and will allow for brainstorming of ideas, and for slight revisions and re-editing before the final reveal. Annie, Jodi and I trade ideas in advance about how the story will progress, but even so we’ll need to go back later and tighten up a few things.

    I don’t know if you’ve planned to make this open to everyone EXCEPT the weekly writers, but in case you haven’t I’m going to disqualify myself from it in advance so I get to enjoy the week off!

  2. July 23, 2008 6:51 pm

    Thanks for mentioning ChapterBytes!

Comments are closed.

