Skip to content

It’s that time of year again…

September 28, 2008

When writers become more stressed than ever, when eating, sleep and family take second place to a small wordcount total, and when Write Stuff writers all of a sudden they don’t need to think too hard about what their articles will be about…

NaNoWriMo is once again upon us.

For the veterans, time to get yourself logged back in and get reacquainted with your writing buddies and the forum.  For novices, time to sign up, explore the site, and take a moment to consider what the heck you’ve just got yourself into…

If you haven’t signed up, I would encourage you to do so.  NaNoWriMo is a huge commitment to writing, one that, at many points during the month, you will wonder why you signed up for.  1,667 words doesn’t sound much, but to do that every day, in the knowledge that you have to write that many words every day – that’s a heavy burden, one that at times can seem insurmountable.

At the end of NaNoWriMo, there is talk of “winners” – those who achieved the 50,000 words over the 30 days.  In truth, there are no winners or losers at NaNoWriMo.  It may be a trite phrase in relation to sporting events, but it is true in November.  It’s the taking part that counts.  However much you write, you will write more in November taking part in NaNoWriMo than you would otherwise.

And no matter how you feel from the 1 November to 30 November, you will feel such a sense of satisfaction on 1 December at what you have achieved, you will want to do it all over again the following November.

So I hope you join us.

One Comment
  1. October 7, 2008 8:43 am

    Well – for better or worse I am signing up like yourself…. but having arrived here by route of your blog and then reading the posts above yours, I have to say that whilst the experience may be useful I set no great store by my early optimism that what I write may actually be of any use. Perhaps that is why I set up my blog in preparation? So that I could write drivel on the blog and produce something meaningful within NaNoWriMo. I’m having some doubts momentarily…

Comments are closed.

