Skip to content

No NaNo Here Either

September 30, 2008

This is not my weekly post, but I thought in light of Paul’s and Janie’s posts, I’d spend just a few minutes explaining why, this year I won’t be participating.

Each of the last two years I have participated in NaNo. Each of those years I have set modest goals for myself, far short of the 50,000 words. Nevertheless, each year I have passed the 50k mark. And in the two years I have written approximately 750 words of usable rough draft. The first year I, when I wrote about 100k, I proved to myself that I can turn off my inner editor, that I can work for hours writing crap with nothing to show for it. Last year, only after I was done, did I realize that I had participated more out of solidarity than out of any expectation of writing anything usable.

This year I’ll encourage the writers I know who are participating. I’ll cheer them on. But I won’t be pressing toward 50k myself.

One Comment
  1. September 30, 2008 3:19 pm

    I like the idea of saying the ideas instead of writing them. I might just try that. My thoughts tend to come so fast at times that recording them would probably be better anyway. Not sure I could bounce them off of someone though. They tend to start a little too disjointed.

Comments are closed.

