Skip to content

Questions

October 15, 2008

I’m in a writing frenzy right now and it’s difficult for me to think clearly. I figured that I’d ask some questions this morning because I’m having trouble switching gears. Writing for a living has always been my dream but sometimes it’s more like a nightmare. I could use some guidance and insight.

Do you consider all writing creative on some level?

When do you find time to write for yourself?

What is your greatest source of inspiration?

Do you have any bad writing habits? What are they?

Sometimes I find that asking questions is the best way to get myself thinking; not that I need to think anymore than I do. I’m off to work-write and I’ll be back for some feedback.

2 Comments
  1. October 15, 2008 11:29 am

    Hello Everyone,
    Tammi I can’t Thank You enough for asking such great questions and for inspiring me to use your article Questions as my writing prompt and wrote Pondering Questions! You have given me something to write about today and I hope that you enjoy my gift to you as feedback.
     
    Enjoy Life!

  2. October 16, 2008 10:17 am

    I write software for a living and have also written the corresponding technical “online help” guides for it. There was a stretch of many years that I didn’t write anything creatively at all. Now, though, I find time for myself to write creatively in the early hours of the morning, either at the office or at home. I write while I sit in the waiting room of my daughter’s dance class or sit in the car waiting for her religious education class to end. Or while my son is at gymnastics. In effect I take back the time I might otherwise spend driving back home, then doing some odd job that I can fit into 40 minutes, then driving back to the school/church/studio… and instead I sit at the school/church/studio for an hour of solid writing time. I also write during lunch breaks or while I watch sports on TV.

    I do consider all writing ‘creative’ on some level, but anything that is “secondary” (such as my online help system) is somehow not creative.

    My worst writing habit is finding excuses to not do it. It is very easy to find anything and everything else to do (there’s work, laundry, cleaning the gutters, caulking the bathroom tiles, etc.). I used these excuses for 15 years. My next worst writing habit would have to be self-doubt. It takes me a lot of effort to finish something if I think that no one else will like it. I have to remind myself that I write for me and if others happen to like it, that’s a super bonus.

Comments are closed.

