Skip to content

I am a writer perhaps because I am not a talker

October 25, 2008
by

Just read Jeff’s post and I had to say, I don’t exactly refer to myself as a writer either. Not on a conscious level.  I did at one time wanted to write the great American novel but that was just a thought, a small, fleeting desire that went unnoticed, stored in the back of my head. Then came blogging which kind of open up for me that idea of writing again.

The amateur that I was and still am, I fumbled through many, many improper fiction writing and now poetry. Still the joy of writing is there, underneath the small opening of each sentence, each word, each time I touch pen to paper (which I still occasionally do).

But, yes, occasionally I would call myself a writer, only because it seem to deem a very lovable and correct term. And when pressed to say why I have a writing blog if I’m not a writer? I would quote this quote from this wonderful writer, Gwendolyn Brooks:

“I am a writer perhaps because I am not a talker.”

It is a statement that fits me well even if I don’t necessary call myself a writer. I have more skills in writing than in speaking. Talking requires me to use my voice, which sometimes stutter even on the simplest of thoughts.

I am going to participate in NaNoWriMo this year. I have read a few times around the blogosphere in which people kept using the term, crazy/nuts, when citing why they are doing NaNoWriMo. And in my case, it is the same. Even after attempting this last year, I still think it’s kind of insane to even think I can do this again. I didn’t really finish that last time and the writing was kind of here and there, not all cohesive but I was thoroughly glad to have participated.

Still, it is not an easy thing to do the second time around. Even now, I have no clue what the story I am going to write but each day I try to think of an idea. And each day, as it came closer, the ideas disappears on me. But I still think it is a rather good challenge and will keep thinking on this until November.  I know a few of my fellow Bloggers has already signd up and I am glad to be doing this with them and with many thousands of other individuals. So, good luck to all of you participating NaNoWriMo.

– lissa

2 Comments
  1. October 25, 2008 3:18 pm

    “I am a writer perhaps because I am not a talker.” This statement is me to a T!

  2. October 25, 2008 3:28 pm

    Thanks Lissa!

Comments are closed.

