Skip to content

Gear Up, Good Luck

October 28, 2008

I run hot and cold on NaNoWriMo.

I think it’s a good concept, but I have my reservations about its resolution. It’s always good to get writers writing, however I think the 50,000 word goal becomes all-encompassing, relegating, concept, execution, creativity, and quality to the back seat.

But then again, it’s always good to get writers writing.

I have a big problem with the month chosen for NaNo. It’s a short month. It’s the beginning of the holiday season. And for Americans with families it includes the denouement of Halloween, as well as Thanksgiving—which for families who love food and football, and who need to shop on a budget, is basically a four day weekend. Why couldn’t they have chosen the sweltering, 31-day August for this marathon? This year I have decided to forgo the stress and spend the holiday weekend with my family.

Of course, it’s always good to get writers writing.

So to all those WAers who are gearing up for NaNo, good luck.

Oh…and they also picked the worst acronym/abbreviation ever…

12 Comments
  1. October 28, 2008 12:36 pm

    I write best between 4:30 AM and 9 AM. I don’t think I can change that!

    Imagine my house: My wife, my kids and I all do NaNoWriMo and we host write-ins for other friends and family members to. It is utter chaos for 30 days!

  2. October 28, 2008 12:47 pm

    Utter chaos?

    Perhaps.

    Utter fun?

    ABSOLUTELY!

    That is so cool that your wife and kids get involved!!!

Comments are closed.

