Skip to content

NaNoWriMo Indecision 2008

October 29, 2008

I still don’t know whether I am going to participate in NaNoWriMo (did I get that abbreviation right?) this year or not. I feel like a student who is completely unprepared for an exam; the difference is that there is nothing at stake if I skip the challenge this year. Is there?

I have many ideas but no focus or direction. I suppose that I can limp in like I did last year, ending up with a collection of words that don’t come near to the goal. Maybe I can use last year’s start as fodder for this November’s writing race.

I’m still tossing the idea in my head but time is running out. I still don’t know what to do, or not to do.

9 Comments
  1. October 29, 2008 8:12 am

    Tammi, you mentioned you have many ideas – take those ideas and write short stories from them. Even if you don’t cross the 50,000 word finish line, at least you’ll walk away with something. And who knows? Maybe one of them will beg to be a novel.🙂

  2. October 29, 2008 10:53 am

    Tammi,

    Here’s some unsolicited advice from someone who’s skipping NaNo this year.

    Do it.

    In your post I read specific reasons to do NaNo, but only a general apprehension as your reason for not.

    In my case, I’ve done it for the past two years and I’ve promised my familiy some more time this Thanksgiving weekend (November also happened to be a big birthday month in this family). On top of that I’ve got my normal job, plus four web-design projects due in Nov.

    I’ve you’ve got specific reasons to not make the attempt, then by all means skip it. But it sounds like it’s something you WANT to do…

  3. October 29, 2008 11:25 am

    I was coming here to say almost exactly what Dale said. It does sound to me like you’re looking for an excuse to do it. And it sounds to me like you want to do it. That, to me, is all the excuse that is needed.

  4. Tammi permalink
    October 29, 2008 2:06 pm

    I think I really do want to do it…It’s just a matter of making time for it.

    Short stories sound really appealing, Karen. Very short stories. LOL

  5. October 29, 2008 3:06 pm

    Tammi,

    Don’t give up before you start. Just start writing on the first.

    I’ve actually done better in the years that I didn’t plan too much. However, this year, I have NO idea.

    Maybe we should start a group of the totally unprepared.

  6. October 29, 2008 3:34 pm

    I wish you luck if you do NaNo. I’m thinking about if I’m going to this year or not too.

  7. October 29, 2008 5:52 pm

    I spent last year going for weeks through the arguments against doing it … but did end up doing it … and it changed my life (not suggesting that it’s going to change your life this year, or that you need it!)

    I did Script Frenzy this year – the script version of NaNo, run by the office of letters and light … and I didn’t come anywhere near to crossing the finish line – but I felt great about it … because I decided to do it and I had a crack at it, and that was all that really matters – one of those moments where failure is actually success.

    Maybe there’s a little bubble of something great that will happen if you do NaNo this year (even if it’s saying – hey I need an hour to be by myself – and what new Mum doesn’t want or deserve that!) And if you don’t, the great thing about NaNo … there’s always next year!

  8. October 30, 2008 10:28 pm

    The Internet is so abuzz with anticipation for November 1.

    Do it. You’d be missing out on such a buzz at the moment.

  9. October 30, 2008 10:51 pm

    Do it. It’s 2 hours of writing a day, which you should be doing anyway, right? Even if it’s not a complete novel in and of itself you could at least work on one of your projects all month.

    .randy

Comments are closed.

