Skip to content

Word Processors

October 30, 2008

This is one of the reasons why I NaNo is growing on me. I learn about sites, tools and software I never knew even existed. I’ve always used MSWord for my writing needs. Never searched for anything else. While rummaging through the NaNo forums, I came across a few threads concerning word processors.

Here are few you can check out:

Q10 – this is a very simple word processor. It comes with the basics: auto saving, word count stats, portable, and even a timer alarm. Great for Nano as it eliminates distractions. FREE

yWriter 4 -a word processor which breaks your novel into chapters and scenes. FREE

Liquid Story Binder – a portable word processor which features timelines, storyboards, position memory, color schemes and so on. FREE 30 day trial. Purchase price – $45.95

TextRoom – similar to Q10. A word processor for Linux users. It contains the ability to change fonts, configurable background and text colors, vary the size of the editor window so that it fits your screen, set goals, and the ability to automatically save your work. FREE

TreeDBNotes easy-to-use personal database program which stores your information in a comfortable and clear tree-structured form. FREE

There are many more like these. The Giveaway of the Day site offers free software downloads which normally you would have to pay for. Some word processors come up in rotation if you want to keep an eye out for them.

3 Comments
  1. October 30, 2008 1:57 am

    thanks for the heads up Andrea. Having the most appropriate softwear is really a MUST HAVE. While I dont write with any novel writing software, and I do rely on word, when I did Script Frenzy at the start of the year, I downloaded the freeware script writing program (Celxt I think it’s called – I’m typing from another computer at the moment) which made the job a whole lot easier.

    I have worst distractions to worry about than the myriad of functions within Word … though at some point I probably should invest in some novel writing software if I am going to be serious about novel writing next year.

  2. October 30, 2008 8:10 am

    I love to write, but I’m totally illiterate when it comes to writing software. But I’m looking forward to NaNoWriMo!

  3. October 30, 2008 9:06 am

    Awesome resources! thanks for the post.

Comments are closed.

