Skip to content

NaNo Excerpt

November 6, 2008

I made it past the 10,000 word mark yesterday. Thought I share a little excerpt of what I wrote:

Mica did as he was told. A series of flashes went off. After about the fifth one, Corey noticed something. A shadow like figure sitting in the fourth row. One click it was there. The next it was gone. “Mica, review the last couple of pictures. Tell me if you see anything odd.” He waited as he heard Mica scanning through the photos.

“I don’t see anything. What am I looking for exactly?”

“When you were taking pictures, I thought I saw something. We’ll take a closer look later. Just keep taking photos. Maybe we’ll catch something.”

“Yes, boss,” he said, snapping more photos.

Corey looked on, hoping to see it again, but gave up after a few photos. He sat staring in to the darkness. A camera flash revealed the shadow in another location, crouching behind the pulpit. Corey stood to get a better look but it had already taken off. He rushed to the handheld. “Are you seeing what I’m seeing?”

“No. I’m missing out on something?”

“I swear I’m seeing shadows playing hide and seek. Keep your eyes open.”

4 Comments
  1. November 6, 2008 4:05 pm

    I’m intrigued. I was so disappointed that the excerpt ended! Nice piece. Thanks for sharing.

  2. November 6, 2008 4:26 pm

    Nice job! I just past the 18,000 mark, but my muse is slowly down. I’ve written like gang-busters since the 1st, but I only managed 1,200 words today.

  3. November 7, 2008 3:11 pm

    I’m intrigued🙂 of course, I’m a fan of mysterious shadowy thingies… thanks for sharing this all-too-short excerpt – are you planning on sharing more? Because I’d live to see where you go with this!

  4. November 12, 2008 10:58 pm

    I’ll be happy to share more later this month. I opted to do the short story thing instead of novel. I’m on my sixth one. The excerpt above is from my third one: Blackbird Paranormal Society.

Comments are closed.

