Skip to content

1-12-52-365

November 9, 2008

Happy first anniversary…  It has been a year since I started as a Write Anything writer (my first article was on 11 November 2007) and fifty articles on (only two weeks holiday taken!) we’ve come full circle.  So what have been the highs and lows of writing these each week?

As far as lows go, there have been a number of “awake in the wee small hours of a Sunday morning and still haven’t written anything” moments, possibly far more than I would like.  There has even been one “four o’clock in the afternoon on a Sunday, still nothing written, and Karen is having to send an e-mail to see if I’m OK” moment!

But the highs far outweigh these.  For instance, I have a deadline to write something every week.  That gets me writing regularly, and more than that, it makes me think about writing far more critically than I might on, for instance, my own blog.  I find myself paying far more attention to new stories and online snippets to do with writing than I might otherwise.

It also gave me a platform to speak to a ready-made community of writers who would engage in critical discussion about writing, more than I would have found on my own with my own blog.  In fact, I’ve picked up one or two regular readers on my own blog who found me through Write Anything, which is always a bonus.

Over the past year I feel that I’ve become a stronger writer, and I attribute that to not just having this weekly column, but through interaction with the community that has built up around this site.  So I’m grateful to everyone at Write Anything for allowing me this opportunity, and to you the readers for coming back each week.  I hope this year will prove to be even better than last year – at least in terms of my time-keeping, if nothing else!

3 Comments
  1. November 9, 2008 6:28 am

    I can’t even begin to thank you for your time, talents and efforts, Paul. (And that goes for everyone else, too!!) This blog would be NOTHING without you and I really, really, REALLY appreciate everything you do.

    I’m glad this site has blessed you, I hope it continues to do so.

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking on this weekly challenge.

    And thank you readers for coming back!

    *group hug!*

  2. tabby2004 permalink
    November 9, 2008 10:03 am

    Happy anniversary! Looking forward to reading more from you on this blog!

  3. November 9, 2008 4:47 pm

    Happy anniversary Paul! I remember the call going out last year for a new Sunday writer … and am very glad that you took up the mantle. Reading your column each Sunday (or at some time in the following week) has got me thinking critically about writing too.

    Thanks for keep the home fires stoked!

Comments are closed.

