Skip to content

NaNo Excerpt #2

November 20, 2008

We are on Day 20 with only ten days left to go. As of yesterday, my word count sits at 35,922. I set a goal for myself to write more each day than I did last year and so far, I am achieving it. Not one day below 1,667. Very proud of myself.

Below is an excerpt from what I wrote last night of the short story “The Face in the Tree”:

“Mr. and Mrs. Markham this is a very serious matter and I’ve thought about the best course of action. I’ve decided Aaron should be suspended for a week and serve a week of detention and cafeteria duty after that,” he said. “Lisa has decided not to press charges but I suggest you stay away from her. If you don’t, you’ll be expelled in definite.”

“Thank you,” Mr. Markham said, standing and shaking his hand. “I guarantee you he won’t be anywhere near that girl again. Will you, Aaron?”

“Yes sir. I’ll leave her alone. Just curious, does this little suspension mean I’m off the baseball team?” He knew the answer but was hoping for a break.

“You know the rules, Aaron. A suspension means no baseball, sorry.”

He picked up his book bag and stormed out. He lost his best friend and baseball. Nothing could make it worse. When he left the principals office, there she was just sitting there without a care in the world.

Aaron wanted to just walk up to her and confront her about everything, but couldn’t with Mrs. Godfrey in the room. So, he stayed by the door waiting for his parents. He stared at her, hoping she would look his way. He was so entranced with hatred that he didn’t even notice when his parents reappeared.

“Aaron, you were told to leave her alone,” Mr. Markham said.

“I am leaving her alone. I’m over here away from her. What do you want me to do,” he asked.

“I actually asked her to come to the office. I think Aaron owes her an apology,” the principal said.

“She frames me and now I have to apologize to her. They are out of their damn minds,” he thought.

“You heard him. Go apologize right now,” Mrs. Markham said.

Aaron gritted his teeth and sulked over to where she was sitting. As he approached, she finally looked in his direction. She stood and put on her best innocent look. He looked back at his parents, hoping they would put a stop to it. Instead, they urged him to continue.

He took a deep breath. “I’m sorry for harassing you. You didn’t deserve it and I won’t do it again. I hope you can forgive me.” He tried his hardest to refrain from strangling her, especially when she put on a smug victory smile.

6 Comments
  1. November 20, 2008 8:45 am

    Congrats on reaching 35,000+ words!

  2. November 20, 2008 9:43 am

    Nice job on the word count.

  3. November 20, 2008 11:31 am

    Thank you!

  4. November 20, 2008 1:28 pm

    you’re way ahead of me…. well done… I want to hear how Paul is going though – but this blog is “impersonal” so we have to wait….

  5. November 20, 2008 1:34 pm

    This blog is impersonal? *brow arch*

    Feel free to contact Paul A. through his blog. You can find out more about Paul, and links to his blogs, on the About Our Writers page: https://writeanything.wordpress.com/about/

    In the meantime Andrea, GOOD JOB GF! You’re ahead of me, but not for long!😀

  6. November 20, 2008 7:38 pm

    Congrats on the word count – definitely something to be proud about. I really enjoyed the portion of your story. Makes me want to know what she did to frame Aaron, and why.

Comments are closed.

