Skip to content

Dear Kid Saturdays

December 3, 2008

My personal blog has been in a swamp of neglect for several months. I wasn’t sure whether I was going to continue adding to it or put it to rest. Recently, I met a dedicated mom blogger who created Dear Kid Saturdays. The concept is quite simple; write a letter to your child.

The idea made me realize how valuable our blogs can be if we take the time to think about what is really important to us. I am going to revive my personal blog through the inspiration of Dear Kid Saturday. I hope that my daughters will enjoy reading their letters one day.

Visit Dear Kid Saturdays for more information.

This brings up a question. Why do you write?

3 Comments
  1. December 3, 2008 6:28 am

    Ooh, good idea! I’m in!

    I have enjoyed blogging a whole lot more since I’ve been posting when I want, and what I want and have been keeping in mind that my family will likely read it long after I’m gone.

    Emphasis on “long” after I’m gone. *grin* The husband reads it now, but my children do not. At least, right now.

  2. December 3, 2008 7:15 am

    This is a great idea. I had started keeping a journal when my daughter was born, but that only lasted for a couple of weeks, thanks largely to the day job, and I’ve since lost it. Maybe it was because I tried writing in it every day in order to capture the things that happened to her every day. I guess when you look at life in such a microscopic way, it just looks… boring!

    So a weekly or even monthly thing might make a lot more sense.

    As to the question of “Why do you write?”… I’ve asked myself this quite a lot, especially during this last month of NaNoWriMo. I do not really have a good, concise answer.

    Early on, I wrote as a release, to try to sort out the emotions I felt as a teenager in a broken home. It was “only for me” and it was the way I kept myself from lashing out at my friends and teachers who were my main support system.

    Eventually, my writing changed into something that was “only for me and a select few people.” I still wrote for the same reasons, but my friends and trusted teachers in high school essentially convinced me that other kids were having the same feelings as I was and were not expressing them. So, I shared. I then helped to found the Writers Club at my high school and a lot of these other folks joined up to find this same release, some, apparently, because they liked my writing.

    Today I write mostly because I enjoy it. I have a few people who read what I write and post on my blog, a small but loyal following that keeps asking for the next chapter or story or whatever. So, to some extent, I write for the people who get some enjoyment out of what I write. I also write because it is not “the day job”, though sitting where I do I wish it were, in fact, the day job. Some things I write today are still following the “get these words out here in private so you can avoid saying them out loud” pattern, but mostly what I write these days is consumable by all, including my kids.

    The far-off, untouchable goal of publishing and making a living off of writing is there, way out there, but essentially I do not write with that in mind. It is all for the love of it at this time.

  3. December 3, 2008 9:15 pm

    Writing to or for someone specifically does make a difference, at least for me. When I write an open letter to my grandchildren or even the whole family idea flow like water. I do love it so much. I may just adopt “Dear Kids Saturday”.

    b

Comments are closed.

