Skip to content

Handwriting

December 10, 2008

A young lady named Megan asked me if I still give and receive hand-written notes. I send few. I receive fewer.

Megan’s question reminded me of one of my fondest childhood memories. I used to have a pen pal. Unfortunately, I was so young when we shared the correspondences that I can’t remember her name. I just know that she lived near Pittsburgh, PA.

I don’t remember the content of the letters. I don’t know how many we exchanged. I do remember a strong feeling of connection. The handwritten notes were small treasures for me as a child.

We moved frequently so I lost touch with my pen pal, and with the details of the exchanges. Even her name has settled to deeply in my mind for me to retrieve it. The connected feeling is still with me to this day. The letters have been lost over the many years but they are still of great value to me.

Megan has given me a wonderful gift without realizing it. I am going to send more handwritten notes. I’m starting with a note of thanks to my daughter’s teachers and the woman who organizes the Early Intervention program she attends.

Handwriting has always been a source of wonder for me. I am fascinated by handwriting analysis. Each stroke of the pen is a fingerprint. When we write by hand, we leave a unique mark.

Do you write or receive many handwritten notes?

2 Comments
  1. December 10, 2008 7:21 am

    I love sending and receiving handwritten notes! It is still my preferred way to communicate with family and friends. Email is so easy, but nothing beats a handwritten note.

    I also give handwritten letters and cards to my hubby and 3 daughters for birthdays, holidays and other special occasions. It’s amazing how my handwriting has changed over the years!

  2. December 10, 2008 7:01 pm

    I too used to have a pen-pal… one in the US and one from a Scandinavian country. Lost touch with both, which is really a shame 😦

    And no, nowadays, apart from jotting a note into a birthday or other type of greeting card, I do not do much writing. And my penmanship has certainly suffered as a result!

Comments are closed.

