Skip to content

Thirty Minutes a Day

December 17, 2008

I write for a living which makes writing as a hobby very difficult. By the time I finish working for the day, I’m mentally exhausted. The last thing I feel like doing is writing some more, even if it is something that I love to do.

Working from home is great, but I am always at work. It can be all-consuming at times. I toggle between childcare, housework, cooking, laundry, and work.

There may be some ways that I can overcome this problem. The first is to unplug for awhile. I like to write creatively by hand so this is ideal for fitting this exercise into my schedule.

I am going to make an early New Year’s resolution; write 30 minutes a day for myself.

Do you have a “writing for me” schedule? How do you work this into your day?

6 Comments
  1. December 17, 2008 10:47 am

    My “write for me” schedule is nicely laid out but kind of hit-or-miss in practice. Essentially, I get to work early and plan to write for the thirty minutes to an hour before I have to start working. This works well since I write best in the morning (I do everything best in the morning, really). But then work creeps in and demands that I pay attention, so it doesn’t always work out the way I want it to work out.

    Additionally, I plan to write while I am at my kids’ events. So, rather than driving home after dropping my kids off at dance class or baseball or whatever, I’ll sit there in the waiting room or in my car and write. This works well because it saves gas and time and takes away distractions like laundry and “life” since I’m nowhere near those things. However, since these events are at night, I’m less efficient at the writing and usually less pleased with what I put on paper at that time.

    Doing things we like seems to be just as much work as all the stuff we “have to do!” I guess anything worth doing is going to take effort but sometimes it can be as frustrating as it is rewarding, especially at this time of year.

  2. December 17, 2008 5:01 pm

    Wow, that would be really nice. For me, I don’t write for a living but basically do a boring job on my own and have little social interaction during the day so when I get home the last thing I want to do is do a solitary activity.

    So work is when I get my urge to write, but it’s often hard to do when there are other people hovering around you all day in an office.

  3. December 17, 2008 5:18 pm

    I currently don’t have any schedule for writing. I really should have one though, even if it’s only 15-30 minutes a day.

    I’ve been going through a dry spell with my novel lately, but the last couple of days (while at work), I seemed to get a couple of ideas for the story. Tonight I’ve sat down and did some writing and will continue with it shortly…before the creative energy drains out of me!

  4. December 17, 2008 6:33 pm

    I have the same difficulty! I want to hobby write, but when I’ve just spent all day work writing… I still haven’t figured out how to make it work, but I’ve been thinking about scheduling it.

  5. December 17, 2008 8:11 pm

    I struggle with finding a consistent writing time. I found during NaNoWriMo that the first 15-30 minutes were rough, but then the creative juices really start moving after 45-60 minutes of writing. I need some warmup time. So I was thinking of setting aside larger chunks of time a few days per week to write rather than small daily amounts.

  6. December 17, 2008 9:14 pm

    My write for me schedule on and off for the past 14 months has been ‘morning pages’ compliments of The Artist’s Way. I feel out of practise doing them during NaNo and am feeling it hard to get back into it.

    What I love about morning pages is they are literally ‘writing for me’ … technically it’s not creative writing, nor personal writing, it’s stream of consciousness writing so anything can come out and often does. I highly recommend them – though I struggle to get the routine happening so I AM writing them in the morning. Was hoping that school holidays and a new bottle of purple ink would help ….

Comments are closed.

