Skip to content

Page-A-Day

December 18, 2008

Christmas is a week away which means the new year isn’t far behind. I could wait until 2009 begins to make changes in my life but decided not to. I started with my internet presence.

I set up a Myspace page for my Ghost Stories blog almost a year ago. Then, realized it sounded like a good idea but wasn’t. I shut it down. I started a fiction blog a while back, was a lot of fun but lost interest in the story. It’s being shut down too. I noticed some writers are opting for a blog do-over. I feel like doing the same. My personal/writing blog has been neglected for far too long. It’s time for something new and different.

With that out of the way, I can concentrate on my writing habits. I’m starting with writing every day. Some writers are doing this page-a-day thing. Well, it’s more like 200 – 300 words a day type of goal. I’ve decided, starting on January 1, to write literally a page-a-day, taking Sundays off. Handwritten, it’s about 100 – 200 words per page. Writing one word a day is more than what I was doing last year and I was doing almost ten times as much during NaNo. Shouldn’t be a problem. And since I’m redoing my blog, I can use that as a way to stay on track. This is only the beginning for me.

What are your writing resolutions for 2009?

3 Comments
  1. December 18, 2008 8:01 am

    You’ve given me food for thought. I haven’t stopped to think about resolutions for the New Year. I already write everyday, but maybe I need to make my goal more specific. Thanks for the idea!

  2. December 18, 2008 5:02 pm

    My writing resolution, if I were to make one, is simple: Just keep writing!

    As much as I want to, I simply cannot commit to writing every day, not with my job and my family commitments and everything else. As it is, my goal of writing at least once each week is sometimes debilitating as I start to get anxious and irritated if I go a few days with no output of any “value.”

    I suppose that if I were to make a more concrete resolution, it would be to commit to spending the time I need to spend in order to come up with some kind of a plan for what I want to do with this hobby… a plan for how I want to pursue it, for how I want to share it with others and for how I can incorporate it within my day job and everything else I have to do.

  3. Dark Angel permalink
    December 19, 2008 11:33 am

    I prefer to think of them as new year’s goals, as ifind resolution sounds far to vague.
    My goal for 2009 is to start selling my writings (and other creative stuff) via my website. Another, more short term goal is to finish the novel/novella (not sure how long it’ll turn out to be) that I’m currently working on.

Comments are closed.

