Skip to content

On Your Nightstand #4

December 20, 2008

I’m currently reading: The House in Amalfi by Elizabeth Adler.

Tell me: What are you currently reading?

And speaking of books … I counted up how many books I read this year and are you ready for this? A measly 32.

Thirty-two books! In 52 weeks! I’m thinking that’s pretty pathetic, quite frankly. But when I counted up how many books I read in 2007 and it was only 29, I guess I can’t complain too loudly.

My goal for 2009? To try and read four books a month (though realistically it’ll probably be closer to three). And I’ll have to over compensate for November because I don’t even crack a book open during NaNoWriMo.

What is your reading goal for 2009?

And since we’re on the subject of books:

What do you do with the books you’ve read? Give them away? Sell them? Store them? Are they collecting dust on your bookshelf?

Personally, I mooch them.

Bookmooch them, that is. I’m a member of Bookmooch which is an online forum to swap books with other bookworms.

If you would like to join Bookmooch (or if you’re already a member, look me up!) and mooch books off of me, you can find my inventory and my account information here. My Bookmooch ID is: take2max – in case the link doesn’t work and you want to find me.🙂

(Sorry, I’m only shipping to the U.S at this time. International shipping just isn’t in the budget right now.😦 )

Let’s see, looking at my stats: I’ve given 30 books away and have received 16 books – and I have three more scheduled to arrive very soon. It’s fast, easy and an efficient way to recycle your books. They even have a Firefox took that you can install so that every time your browsing Amazon.com and you see a book you’d like, you can click the Bookmooch button and it’ll tell you if any Bookmooch members have that book. So, you could get the book for free instead of buying it through Amazon. Pretty cool, right?

Are you a member of an online book swap program? If so, please share!

And one last thing …

A HUGE THANK YOU to all the Write Anything readers out there for your time and for your visits. We truly appreciate you!!

Happy Holidays/Merry Christmas!

2 Comments
  1. December 20, 2008 8:30 am

    Let’s see….currently reading…

    Ice Hunt by James Rollins
    Miracle and Other Christmas Stories by Connie Willis
    King Lear by Shakespeare
    Quantum Evolution by Johnjoe McFadden and
    Anathem by Neal Stephenson

    I have no idea how many books I’ve read this past year. Since April it’s been about 3-4 per week…so 125?

    I won’t make a reading goal for 2009 because my reading completely depends on my work and family schedule. For instance, while I may have been tearing up the bookshelves since April, January-March I believe I finished 1 book.

  2. December 20, 2008 11:36 am

    Man, I am jealous of you guys. I think I’ve managed 5 this year? Very very poor show…

Comments are closed.

