Skip to content

My First

January 8, 2009

I have some exciting news to share. You know the kind where you jump up and down wildly, screaming so loud people in Russia can hear you. I’m officially a paid author!!!

Ok so $7.12 isn’t exactly the kind of cash you want to throw on the bed and roll around in, but it’s something. I held the check in my hand and it hit me. My short story and poem were published and I got paid for it. It feels really nice.

I’ve been working really hard to keep my New Year’s resolution to write everyday. This kind of news keeps me inspired. I submitted a short story to Pseudopod last month. Finger’s crossed lightning strikes twice in one month.

When did you officially become a paid author? How much was your first paycheck? How did it make you feel?

8 Comments
  1. January 8, 2009 6:08 am

    Congratulations, Andrea!!! That is wonderful news! And the beginning of a long (and prosperous?) writing career! Keep up the good work!

    I’m still waiting for my first paycheck. I’m thinking it got lost in the mail? *grin*

  2. January 8, 2009 7:24 am

    Congratulations! That’s awesome.

  3. January 8, 2009 8:28 am

    Congrats!!

    My first check for my written words was $35 – nothing to write home about, but I was excited. Of course, since then, I haven’t sold another thing, but I’m hopeful!

    One day I will be a full-time paid author!

  4. January 8, 2009 5:16 pm

    Thank you! Thank you!

  5. January 8, 2009 6:04 pm

    I don’t know whether mine counts. A few years back I put all of my shorts into a collection and sold it off lulu.com. I sold like 5 or 6 copies and made like $30 or something.

    I’ve never actually sold a piece properly though.

  6. January 8, 2009 11:44 pm

    Congratulations Andrea – it’s a buzz isn’t it. I became a paid writer in March last year when I sold my first short story for $45.00. Annie and I have sold about half a dozen of our ebooks and I’m currently working on a collection of short stories. Thanks for reminding me about lulu.com Benjamin.

    And I’m keeping up with writing every day – it’s not always fiction but I’m putting words down every day and to me that’s what matters. Been doing lots of rewrites.

  7. January 9, 2009 9:13 am

    Hmm, does it count if I got paid for an article I wrote for the school paper? Hehe. I was a journalism student and during my internship, when one of my articles got published, I got paid. Roughly converted to US$, it was less than $1, but I was so happy. I never cashed the check but kept it as a remembrance.

  8. January 14, 2009 9:23 am

    I got $50 for writing a editorial type of thing in response to a question — it was for a magazine. But I don’t count that as real writing and I don’t think it counts….

    Some day I’ll get better with my writing.

Comments are closed.

