Skip to content

Best of Both Worlds?

January 13, 2009

LivescribeI’m part Techophile and part Luddite. On my desk I have a laptop computer and a dip pen and inkwell set. I’m addicted to email, but I have a nice collection of pens to select from when I write a handwritten letter.

Of late, when it comes to writing, I’ve been leaning toward the arcane. I’ve decided to set aside the computer in favor of the rollerball and spiral notebook—at least for rough drafts.

But now I’m eying a new toy that may help to synthesize my techie and Luddite natures.

For Christmas I got my better half a LiveScribe Pulse pen. It’s a digital pen that when used with special paper records whatever a user writes. It also used a microphone and built in MP3 recorder to record audio in sync with what is written. I got it to help her with school, which is really what the pen is designed for. When used to take notes for class, one only needs to touch a section of the text to hear what was said as the words were written.

The features that I’m most interested in are it’s ability to translate what is written into computerized text, or even to search through handwritten text for words or phrases.

I’m always wary of such devices, as early generations of these fusions of technologies often have all the grace of a hippo in a tutu. But the reviews of this pen have been largely positive, and my sweetie’s experience, so far, has fallen in line with expectations.

2 Comments
  1. January 13, 2009 8:48 am

    I’ve always been partial to spiral notebooks and “clicky” pens for writing all my rough drafts. The notebooks are always handy for jotting down conversations, quotes, or other little tidbits of info that come my way. This way I always have a well to draw from when expanding my stories or essays!

  2. January 13, 2009 7:04 pm

    I’ve saw these, they look quite cool. Stuff like voice recognition have never worked well enough for me.

    Though your post inspires me to try writing by hand soon to revive my muse. I do do it every once and a while.

Comments are closed.

