Skip to content

Battle of the Editors

January 29, 2009

What do you do when you’re in the middle of editor drama? Last year, one of the regular writers here tipped me off to a new ezine looking for submissions. As you know, new markets are always risky. After checking out the website and the guys running it, I decided to the chance.

I submitted my story and waited. My story was published soon after. Unfortunately, no one felt the need to tell me this. The method in which I found out was through Myspace. They posted a bulletin advertising their latest issue. This was minor compared to what was to come.

A couple of months later, two of the editors in particular had a disagreement. I don’t know exactly what it was about. This disagreement led to them splitting. One editor kept with the current ezine and the other developed his own. You would think it ended there, but no.

My parents are divorced and I’m use to being brought in to arguments that have little to do with me. Didn’t like it then and still don’t. As a writer, myself as well as others were kind of brought in to this. One editor was posting bulletins containing emails from the other editor including comments on a somewhat regular basis. Then I received messages from both trying to recruit me to a side. I haven’t dealt with either much since then. Not sure if I ever will.

To all editors, please mud sling in private. I know the very idea of discrediting your opponent sounds like an excellent maneuver but who likes to choose sides. Please think of the writers.

2 Comments
  1. January 29, 2009 9:31 pm

    Wow, not very classy at all. They sound like children.

  2. January 30, 2009 6:56 pm

    I know. Not very flattering.

Comments are closed.

