Skip to content

What is missing?

March 1, 2009

I don’t know if you can spot what is missing.  Within this tumult of words, an important, nay critical part is sadly lacking.

What can you say?  Do you know?  Can you pick out what is wanting from my typographic thoughts?  Would you savour a hint?  I can assist you.  A solitary word – lipogram.

A difficult task to construct a lipogram – such a short scrap was a taxing duty.

Would you want to try and fashion your own and post it to this location?

3 Comments
  1. March 1, 2009 6:11 am

    What is missing?
    1. Sunday is possibly the worst day to play word games – my brain – in particular goes on holiday and often threatens not to return until mid week. (That might explain some of my articles)
    2.what little sense I have left has now melted out of one ear leaving me with a vacant look of despair as I try to unravel this passage.
    3. I can only liken this to one of Bob Dylans songs – written completely as a palindrome…or more recently Weird Als song also in palindrome entitled Bob.
    3. damn it Paul.. this is really annoying me now..
    4. OK -I might hazard a guess that it is the letter ‘e’ that is missing from your text..
    Now – here is mine.
    Captain Juan’s blog completely Rocks, therefore I would encourage one and all to veer your wandering onto this fine site and give it a squizz.

  2. March 1, 2009 7:04 am

    Annie – you got it right! The letter ‘e’ is the missing letter in the lipogrammatic passage above. With unusual letters, lipograms are easy – but with something like ‘e’, the most common letter in the English language, it is incredibly difficult.

    There are, to my knowledge, two novels written without the letter ‘e’. I have no idea how they managed it!

  3. March 1, 2009 4:52 pm

    This was extremely hard. Here’s my attempt – Truth

Comments are closed.

