Skip to content

[Fiction] Friday #98

April 3, 2009

Fiction Friday

[Fiction] Friday Challenge for April 3rd, 2009:

A married couple sets out on a six-month adventure, living on their boat while sailing from port city to port city. By the fifth city, they are thoroughly sick of each other and their relationship takes a serious turn for the worse.


How Fiction Friday works
Fiction Friday is easy to do.

  • Every Thursday, just check this page for this week’s theme or challenge.
  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge.
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog.
  • Then come back to Write Anything and leave the link in the comment section below.

If you’re participating in the Write Anything meme, please leave a link to your entry in the box below. (If you’re not participating, please don’t leave a link. People who aren’t playing will be removed). Please don’t forget to leave us a comment in addition to leaving a link!

[Fiction] Friday Participants

1. James Ashelford
2. Paul
3. mdbenoit
4. GiGi @ Incrementum
5. ~willow~
6. adenpenn
7. the_author_inside
8. Jodi Cleghorn

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

If you’d like to participate further, just go visit some of the other links left by other participants, read what they wrote, and leave a comment. Just be sure that your comment is constructive—this is, after all, a meme to give us all a little writing practice.

Want more information? Visit the Fiction Friday page.

Technorati tags: ,

_____________________________

Send your submissions here.

Next CC: April 11th

Submission Deadline: 11:00 p.m. central time, April 10th.
Only one submission per blog, please.

10 Comments
  1. jamesashelford permalink
    April 3, 2009 3:01 am

    Thanks again for anther fun challenge, this one helped with a bit of character backstory I’d been trying to nail down. Cheers.

  2. April 3, 2009 6:11 am

    Early out of the gate this morning. This is fun:

    http://tinyurl.com/ch7u7o

  3. adenpenn permalink
    April 3, 2009 12:40 pm

    My offering this week. http://moourl.com/rcrfx

  4. April 3, 2009 12:47 pm

    Hello! Have I already mentioned how much I LOVE what you’ve done with the place? Lovely!

    So mine is up and I hope I got my point across. The five minute no editing is HARD!

  5. April 3, 2009 1:19 pm

    I switched back to my other pair of characters – Carl & Sheila. Hmmmm, I wonder if I’ve now written them off? You decide! Enjoy🙂

  6. April 3, 2009 4:23 pm

    Hello All! I wanted to start off by saying I am new to the bloggin world, so forgive me for any mistake I might have made in posting this. I created a free blog at http://www.thoughts.com just so I could post my Fiction Friday submission. I hope you like it!

    http://www.thoughts.com/the_author_inside/blog/fiction-friday-98-264165/

  7. April 3, 2009 5:03 pm

    A shout out to “the author inside”, since I’m not creating an account at thoughts.com just to leave a comment :p I hope you see this feedback!

    I loved the entire piece except for the last paragraph – you ended it too abruptly, in my opinion. It was too… convenient, contrived. Such a pity, because everything leading up to is was great! p/s: I think you meant brandished, not banished, a handgun?

    ~willow~

  8. April 4, 2009 8:23 am

    After saying this week that I never get inspiration to write sci-fi short stories – I decided to give it a crack this week. Light years is my Fiction Friday offering this week.

  9. April 4, 2009 9:03 am

    The-Writer-Inside … I actually tried to sign up for an account so I could comment but had issue with the verification code. So like Willow I hope that you stop by and pick up this comment.

    “There’s the bones of an intriguing story here. I’d like to see more and hear less (show not tell) and perhaps have them circling each other for a bit to build up some suspense” … hope to see you back here again soon!

  10. April 7, 2009 11:02 am

    Hi – mine is late – have had some dramas with computer.. and internet… oh well .. here tis… will get on and give my comments to all your wonderful pieces tomorrow… ( internet connection willing..)

    http://annieevett.blogspot.com/2009/04/prompt-married-couple-sets-out-on-six.html

Comments are closed.

