Skip to content

Tweet Away

April 23, 2009

It’s no secret Twitter has gain much popularity to Facebook/Myspace status if not better. With more battles like Ashton Kutcher vs. CNN will keep it at the top. I’m not going to lie. I’m still testing the waters with this whole Twitter thing. Although it does have its perks.

You can connect or promote without all the distractions Facebook and Myspace offer. Seriously, I’ve come to the point where I don’t even like logging in on Facebook anymore. It’s more of a game site rather than social networking. Most invites I get are for apps. The charm is starting to wear off. Myspace wasn’t all that bad at first until they started trying to compete with Facebook by adding apps. I swear it is so annoying having to wait for all the apps to load on someone’s Myspace page.

Twitter is stripped of all of that. It’s really refreshing. Yes, it has it’s own set of apps but not the kind that clutters up someone’s page.  The only application I’ve downloaded is Digsby and I have to say I’m not loving it. I know the Wiki page has a list of options but I’m open to recommendations.

The bottom line is this little micro-blogging social network will remain popular until the next big thing pops up. You might as well take advantage of its power.

Andrea welcomes all those who want to follow her but won’t tweet on demand. Take a look at her page.
3 Comments
  1. April 23, 2009 7:42 am

    Tweet tweet!!! Yes – I am still getting the hang of it – but impressed with how you can search for key words and find really cool info. I have been using it to advertise my articles and blog posts and have connected with other writers in this space.

    I feel the same frustration as you with FB and MS… If I see another “join my fluffy bunny mobwar crusade because it will spread good karma,” I’ll puke.

    For those who want to follow me on Twitter – here I am! ( just started stalking you……)

    http://twitter.com/annieevett

  2. April 23, 2009 1:58 pm

    Yes, I’m getting a little bored of Facebook, and I have long since shut my MySpace account. Twitter is sparse, but I’ve found it incredibly useful.

    About the only applications I use with Twitter are Twitterfox, which gives me live updates in my Firefox browser of Twitter updates, and lets me post, and the “Twurl This” bookmark, which lets me post a shortened URL to Twitter as a tweet.

    If anyone wants to follow, find me here – http://twitter.com/panderson1979

  3. April 23, 2009 9:27 pm

    I’m still getting my head around Twitter – but it is an application that is recommended now for writers to use. Must find the article which talks about it. I’m starting to use it more.

    I find Twitter annoying because of the time difference – there are very few people tweeting on my side of the world when I’m awake and working. That’s probably a good thing.

    I ignore all the stupid application requests for Facebook and still use it as a way to post links to articles and keep up to date with information that’s going around for my non fiction writing. And I’m a visual person – which gives facebook the edge over twitter.

Comments are closed.

