Skip to content

[Fiction] Friday #103

May 8, 2009

Fiction Friday

[Fiction] Friday Challenge for May 8th, 2009:

A man is given the ability to go back in time and change one event in his life.

(Don’t forget to leave your link in the Mr. Linky script below! I convert them into permanent links later which get picked up by Google and Technorati!)


How Fiction Friday works
Fiction Friday is easy to do.

  • Every Thursday, just check this page for this week’s theme or challenge.
  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge.
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog.
  • Then come back to Write Anything and leave the link in the comment section below.

If you’re participating in the Write Anything meme, please leave a link to your entry in the box below. (If you’re not participating, please don’t leave a link. People who aren’t playing will be removed). Please don’t forget to leave us a comment in addition to leaving a link!

[Fiction] Friday Participants

1. Paul
2. Paul Anderson
3. Annie Evett
4. William
5. Rosey Pinkerton
6. Margo
7. M. D. Benoit
8. Aden
9. Al McKillop
10. April
11. Dark Angel

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

If you’d like to participate further, just go visit some of the other links left by other participants, read what they wrote, and leave a comment. Just be sure that your comment is constructive—this is, after all, a meme to give us all a little writing practice.

Want more information? Visit the Fiction Friday page.

Technorati tags: ,

_____________________________

LAST CHANCE to send in your submissions!

Next CC: May 9th

Submission Deadline: 11:00 p.m. central time, May 8th.
Only one submission per blog, please.

10 Comments
  1. May 8, 2009 12:15 am

    Today’s a holiday here in France and I’ve no classes. So I’m in early with my post. I wonder if anyone else had troubling wondering what detail of their life to change. Like my character I’ve a number of what ifs, but I’m not sure I’d actually want to change anything.

  2. May 8, 2009 1:02 am

    I considered going with fantasy and having the time travel opportunity as something magical/religious, but instead went for some SF instead. For those interested the Novikov consistency principle is an actual scientific hypotheses concerning time travel, and was proposed as a counter to some of the paradoxes that could arise (like killing your parents before you were born). Novikov proposes that the universe is logically ordered, and events that happened in the past cannot be changed as something will always occur to ensure that the events happened as they happened. It doesn’t however prevent the time traveller from being the cause of events that have already happened though.

  3. May 8, 2009 3:07 am

    My first [Fiction] Friday challenge … I really would like to edit it! I had to use lots of restraint. The only editing I must do is to correct typos (sorry). Anyway, have a read and let me know what you think.

    http://thanihaveeverdone.blogspot.com/2009/05/fiction-friday-challenge-for-may-8-2009.html

    Regards,
    William

  4. May 8, 2009 3:28 am

    Didn’t have to think too hard about this one!!

  5. bluewingz permalink
    May 8, 2009 9:55 am

    My first Fiction Friday. This was so much fun. My story is Second Chance. It’s on a very new blog, and it’s the first post. There will be a lot more there soon.
    Can’t wait until next week!

  6. May 8, 2009 10:58 am

    Here’s my entry for this week:

    http://mdbenoit.com/blog/2009/05/08/fiction-friday-time-warp/

    And although Annie mentioned that the “writing” in the instructions means composing, I’m having too much fun with this type of flash fiction to write longer stories. I hope people don’t mind.

  7. adenpenn permalink
    May 8, 2009 2:34 pm

    This was a great one! So many places to go!
    http://adenmuse.wordpress.com/2009/05/08/fiction-friday-sector-omega/

  8. almckillop permalink
    May 8, 2009 5:10 pm

    This weeks challenge was very interesting and it took me a while to think about what to do with it – tried not to do something obvious!. This is a bit tongue in cheek and may only be understood by the English and Scottish, particularly football (soccer) supporters. Hope you enjoy it anyway. It’s meant to be light-hearted.

    http://almckillop.wordpress.com/2009/05/08/fiction-friday-may-8th-the-linesman/

  9. almckillop permalink
    May 9, 2009 5:32 am

    In case I confuse people when I leave comments, my Blogger.com id is Ali Bali Bee – just in case those on Blogger wonder who this random person is leaving comments!🙂

  10. Dark Angel permalink
    May 9, 2009 9:59 am

    Here´s my fiction friday piece. Hope it´s not too late, I was unable to post yesterday due to internet going down.
    http://innerdreams.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/the-crystal/

Comments are closed.

