Skip to content

Blog Fiction

May 14, 2009

This style of blogging is slowly increasing in popularity. Blog fiction is a form of fiction writing via weblogs. It appears either as a serialized story or a journal by a fictitious person(s) with formats varying. Serialized publication of fiction isn’t exactly a new concept. In the eighteenth century, there existed the practice of pamphleteering and writers such as Henry James, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Charles Dickens published some of their fiction works in short installments.

I started Finding Me in 2006. While blog surfing via Blog Explosion, I came across several blogs from a blog platform called Nutang. It’s an invite-only, close blogging community that also pays you $.001 per visitor. I figured it would be the perfect place for trying out my blog fiction. I chose to write as a fictitious teenager named Samantha.

I’ve put the poor girl through a school shooting, attempted murder via an ex-boyfriend, her best friend shipped off to a maternity home, her parents splitting up and getting kicked out of her house. I don’t hide the fact that it is fiction, but still managed to fool people in to thinking it’s real somehow. Some writers respond to reader comments. I do too, sometimes, in a later post, but not in the comment section. Having a fiction blog hasn’t hindered my writing, and I think it’s fun to do. If anything, it displays my writing talent.

Do you have a blog fiction site? If not, have you ever thought about starting one? Why or why not?

Continue to follow the teen adventures of Samantha as she tries to handle the dysfunction of her life at Finding Me.
7 Comments
  1. May 14, 2009 10:15 am

    I’ve done web fiction for many differnt reasons:

    1. To explore a character. I gave a recalcitrant character a blog just to see what would happen. I later edited the “diary” and made it available as a print or ebook via Lulu, in case someone found the story after it was finished and wanted an easier way to read it sequentially.

    2. To post a novel that was fun but too flawed for publication. Sometimes a story won’t let you move on until you get it out there in some fashion.

    3. To post a novel that’s not commercially marketable. Maybe it’s too long or too short. Maybe it’s too similar to what’s already out there. Maybe it doesn’t conform to genre standards and isn’t attractive to a publisher, who needs to reach a broad audience to get a return on investment.

    4. Just for fun, to share your ideas and hone your skills. In spite of the many writers who look down upon such behavior, it really is okay to write for fun.

    My latest project isn’t a web novel, but a bunch of stories, character posts, pictures and video that tie in to a novel that will be published in early 2010. Some stories are flash, some are serialized over several weeks. For me, this is just another form web fiction can take.

    The fun thing about web fiction is that it can be whatever you want it to be. It’s the ultimate creative adventure.

  2. May 14, 2009 3:57 pm

    Other examples of fiction that first appeared in short installments:

    The Three Musketeers, Alexander Dumas
    Brigdet Jones’ Diary, Helen Fielding

    Both were originally published as newspaper columns.

  3. May 14, 2009 4:23 pm

    And in more modern examples, authors like Scott Sigler, JC Hutchins and Seth Harwood serialised their work as podcasts before they appeared in print.

  4. May 14, 2009 6:03 pm

    I think it’s a great idea. I’ve considered it, but I don’t have time to add another blog to my posting frequency.

  5. May 14, 2009 7:47 pm

    Can we not forget the most famous of all?? ( big smiles)……

    Captain Juan – http://www.captainjuan.com/

    On a more serious note though I started to post my NaNo chapters up in Dec last year – but the editing got the better of me and I haven’t posted for a while. Your article has given me inspiration to get out and get it up there. Otherwise the story I slaved over for that month will sit virtually mouldering on my computer…… and then the question of getting an audice to actually read it… hummmm

    thanks

  6. May 15, 2009 9:31 am

    I’m hoping one day – without giving too much away – there will be a revival in serialised fiction where the writer will actually get paid. It’s interesting to see here Andrea you’ve mentioned a paid writing gig for serialised fiction.

    In terms of fictionalising a blog – which is perhaps what you were getting at … I’ve enjoyed this week of writing my unsent letters – serialised and published on my blog as fictional letters. I’d love to come and read your fictional blog.

    Such a brilliant idea and I”ve noticed recently cruising (embarrassingly to admit) some gossip type blogs who fiction and reality often merge and people can’t separate the two!

  7. May 22, 2009 8:39 am

    A writing group I belong to, Soul Food Café, encourages fiction blogs.🙂 We each have our own personas, some of us even have several personas, each with his or her own blog and story. We sometimes follow ideas we give each other, and sometimes we go our own ways.

    Mine is Travels With Rilla: http://travelswithrilla.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.

