Skip to content

Nano Will Soon be Here

July 30, 2009

I apologize for how late this post is. Apparently, life had other plans in which he did not wish to include me in on. Happens far too often. Back to the topic.

National Novel Writing Month is only 96 days away. That’s little over three months. Doesn’t feel like it’s been a year since the last one. In 2008, I decided to break away from Microsoft Word and use a different word processor.

Q10 has a lot going for it. It takes over the entire screen, doing away with computer distractions. It’s very simple and I love the typewriter sounds. You can even transfer it to a flash drive and take it on the road. The only problem I had was with the spell check. It worked fine at first. Then, I kept getting errors. Don’t know why.

This year, I have decided to try out another word processor and maybe blog about my experiences with it during Nano. I haven’t chosen one yet and opened to suggestions. Here’s the thing though, I’m looking for word processors that are free to use. I’m a writer on a budget and don’t want to splurge on software I may not even like. There’s sites for swapping books. There should be a software equivalent one too. For all I know, one or more probably exist. I know Nano is for writing a novel in a month but a chosen few like me write short stories. So, themed processors are out unless it caters to shorts.

That’s the criteria. As said before, recommendations are welcomed.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Andrea can’t believe how much she is looking forward to Nano. Two years ago, she refused to do it and now can’t wait to. Thanks Karen!
6 Comments
  1. July 30, 2009 4:17 pm

    Andrea,

    Here is a page that reviews several open source word-processors. I don’t think the second part of the post has been written, but the end of this article gives the nmes of what will included in part II.

    http://linux.com/news/software/applications/28215-open-source-word-processors-give-you-lots-of-free-choices-part-1

  2. JoniB permalink
    July 30, 2009 9:57 pm

    I’d adore it if you’d try out & review Google Docs!

  3. July 30, 2009 11:55 pm

    my goodness – how can it be that soon? Thanks for this post – I’ll be following the link Dale has posted for sure.

    I had also wondered about the short stories and NaNo – I may investigate further.

  4. July 31, 2009 1:58 am

    Yay for NaNo!

    I’d suggest looking in the NaNoWriMo forums. They have a special tech forum with some discussion about Word Processors.

  5. August 1, 2009 2:03 pm

    I’m partial to Open Office. It is fully functional and totally free. It includes everything Microsoft office has. There is also a version that runs on Ubuntu Linux which makes the Dell netbook look a little more appealing if you want a portable bare bones word processor that can also jump online for research, blogging, twitter etc. and still keep to a budget.

    Is [fiction] friday going to continue in November or will there be a short hiatus?

  6. August 1, 2009 2:50 pm

    Chris,

    As far as I know, we’re still planning on continuing [Fiction] Friday throughout November. If you’re planning on participating in NaNoWriMo, maybe you could somehow put the prompt into your NaNo story and kill two birds with one stone by submitting the NaNo excerpt for [Fiction] Friday.

    If nothing else, the prompts might help steer the story in a different direction?

Comments are closed.

