Skip to content

What Would You Change?

August 13, 2009

“A woman is given the ability to go back in time and change one event in her life.” –From The Writer’s Book of Matches

The above was also printed in the latest issue of Writer’s Digest. It’s a prompt which leaves it wide open for the writer to explore, but it got me thinking. We’ve all made mistakes we’d like to correct. Particularly, when dealing with careers. Missed appointments. Mistakes in presentations. Offers you should have taken. Writers aren’t immune to such regrets.

I recently submitted a story to a contest and did so even though I wasn’t fully satisfied with it. I wanted to do more editing and story reconstruction. Unfortunately, time restraints prevented that from happening. This may have resulted in me not winning the contest. Then again, it might not have little to any effect on the judges opinion at all. This I will never know and choose not to dwell on. Though sometimes I wonder if I could change one event what would have happened. Would my writing be better? Or would the Butterfly Effect smack me in the face and turn everything disastrous?

What if you could change one little thing? What would it be? Do you think it would change your life for the better? Or worse?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Andrea needs your thoughts and prayers. Her step-grandfather passed out and had a mini stroke on Monday. Keep him in your thoughts and prayers please.
2 Comments
  1. August 13, 2009 7:47 pm

    Hi Andrea, I happen to have a situation like you several times and it got me thinking either I’m not that well-prepared, lacking intelligence, or simply the situation is not that friendly. However, I wouldn’t change a thing. I tried – also several times – but instead of moving on, I got stumbled all over again. Since then, I decided to leave it just the way it was, I convinced myself that it’s a part of my learning process and made sure to do much better in the future. I also keep reminding myself as I remind my students: don’t be afraid of making mistakes, as you will learn much along the way.

    I’m sorry to hear about your step grandfather’s condition. He’s in my prayers. Wish him all the best, Andrea.

  2. August 14, 2009 6:34 am

    There are so many junctions in life where I look and wonder what would have happen had a taken the other path. There is walking into the artist in residence workshop and having my writing slammed at 18. There is running away to the country with a man I barely knew who smothered the last of the creative spark in me. There is the decision not to go to England to be with the one person who believed in my talent to write.

    But at the end of the day … where I am now in life … I actually wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. To change any one of those three cross roads would mean there is a fair possiblity I would not be here now. I’m older and wiser in my writing, and I have a beautiful son and loving partner. I don’t want for anything really (other than a little more time to myself!)

Comments are closed.

