Skip to content

Narrowing It Down

August 27, 2009

nano_09_blk_participant_100x100_1.png

I took the suggestions made from my post Nano Will Soon be Here along with some listed on the Nano forums and began narrowing the list of word processors down. The search wasn’t as hard as I initially thought it was going to be. A lot of word processors are a like.

WriteMonkey and DarkRoom are similar to Q10. Each takes up the full screen and are simplistic. AbiWord, Open Office and RoughDraft are formatted like MS Word, just more suited for writers. Liquid Story Binder and Scrivener you have to buy. However, they both have 30-Day free trial which could be used for Nano and you’ll probably be spending most of that time period figuring out all the features instead of writing. Freemind and JDarkRoom runs on Java. I have enough troubles with Java as is. Google Docs, AjaxWrite, Zoho Writer, and Write or Die are all online. In my case, the only use I would have for either of them would be to back up my work. Don’t have the luxury of tying up the internet all day. MobaMingle is an app for cell phones. Don’t see myself writing 50,000 words on my cell phone. Don’t think it’s available for my phone anyways.

I’m leaning towards Momentum Writer right now. It’s pretty simplistic but the best feature working for it is your backspace key is useless. I write using a pen and paper. Then later transfer whatever I wrote for the day on to the computer. During this process, I have problem with the urge to edit. I think it would be an interesting experience.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Andrea was excited to see the new NaNoWriMo participation badges! Loves the colors. Counting down the days…
5 Comments
  1. jamesashelford permalink
    August 27, 2009 4:05 am

    Thanks for the post, I just downloaded Momentum and had a little play with it. This is just the sort of application I need.

    Though writing in it showed just how many errors I make when typing now I can’t instantly correct them.

  2. August 27, 2009 7:30 am

    Good luck with Momentum or whatever tool you end up using. My one caution to you with this or any tool is about portability: if you intend to use this tool “just for now” and then move to something else (like MS Word, for example), can you save your Momentum doc as a Word doc? If you cannot and you are forced to go through text files or copy/paste, you may lose formatting, styles, indentation, tabs, etc. This is a lesson I learned long ago in that there is no actual standard for how processors store formatting codes or anything else. If this does not matter to you at all in this case, then it is a non-issue, of course.

    I am very glad to know that I am not the only one who is excited about NaNoWriMo approaching quickly! I will be continuing to use MS Word 2007, as I have for the past few years but I love that there is such a multitude of options out there for us writers. Thanks for consolidating this part of the list in one place!

  3. August 27, 2009 9:26 am

    This year I’m planning on doing a combination of “Write or Die” and GoogleDocs. It’s portable and I don’t have to worry about losing information if my computer crashes. Additionally, I’ll continue my practice of sending myself a copy of my current document to a separate email address (one not hosted by Google).

    Everything will get transcribed into YWriter, though, at the end. I can’t wait for NaNo!

  4. August 27, 2009 9:25 pm

    I’ll probably use plain old Word or Open Office this year, or if I get a Macbook Pro, I might go get Scrivener as it looks so so cool.

  5. August 28, 2009 8:27 am

    I am with you Benjamin – I’ll use Word – not because I am a Luddite or resistant to change – but because I know I will be tempted to utilize all the features and fiddle and faff around with the program – rather than write…..and besides – my ironing and house cleaning will suffer if I have something other than them to distract me ….

    and I’ve just gotten my 2009 badge.. yay! bring on NaNoWriMo

Comments are closed.

