Skip to content

Your Website

September 3, 2009

All writers should know it’s important to brand yourself: business cards, bookmarks, and/or website. I’ve been thinking lately my author site needed a little make over or at least a content boost. I created the site I have now in 2007 and haven’t done much with it since other than posting updates. When I finally decided to take the initiative to do an overhaul, I began a two-step process, improving what I have and adding what I need.

Your website should contain information about you and your writing. My bio currently displays several typos and my excellent ability to ramble. I can’t imagine how someone could NOT be bored reading about me. My list of writing credits isn’t any better. In a nutshell, my website is simple but I feel a little too simple. It should stand out.

One of the best ways to develop ideas about your own website is to look at what others have done. This is by no means me giving you permission to copy another writers design. Remember the key is to be an individual. After a couple of hours, a plan was formed. The homepage and bio are going to be rewritten. That was always a definite. Several pages will be added: Nano, WIP, News & Announcements, etc. More pictures and maybe some clipart. I changed the header image. Managed to find a website with a gallery of free ones.

I’m hoping to have my website updated before Nano begins.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Andrea is willing to listen to any and all advice on how to improve her website. Will listen but doesn’t guarantee she will take it.
2 Comments
  1. September 3, 2009 1:43 am

    I love updating my website. Probably too much, actually. But my redesign a couple of months ago seems to really match my personality.

    The websites that stand out for me are clean, professional looking and often simple. I hate clutter and a million different colours.

  2. September 3, 2009 11:24 pm

    I’m with you Benjamin – love to fiddle with it and have to make myself STOP. recently – after one of Pauls posts on his blog regarding simplification, I too went and weeded out all the crap.
    Andrea – loving the header on your site…..

Comments are closed.

