Skip to content

Reflections

September 17, 2009

Birthdays provide a moment of clarity. As you get older, you begin to wonder if you’ve been living life to the fullest. Have you accomplished everything you wanted to up to this point? If not, what changes can you make?

Today I turned 26. Birthdays have not been a huge ordeal in my family since I was kid. I spent my sweet sixteenth birthday at a high school football game thanks to being in the school band. Birthdays eighteen and twenty-one weren’t monumental either. Maybe I missed out or maybe not. But that is the past. As I inch closer to that thirty mark, I wonder if I have achieved the things I wanted to so far. The answer is not really.

I’m not married nor do I have children but there’s still time for that. Still living at home, unfortunately. Though I think my mom prefers it being me and not my brother for reasons I won’t disclose here. I began the submission process with my writing shortly after high school. Seven or so years later, I only have a few publishing credits to my name.

Despite what I don’t have, I do have a great family. I have food, clothes and a place to live. And I have been published which is more than what some can say. So, this is what I ask of you. Leave a comment with who or what you are thankful for and list the things you want to change in your life.

Andrea is going to eat some cake, open some presents/cards and see you all next week.
3 Comments
  1. September 17, 2009 8:29 am

    it is hard sometimes to be grateful for the abundance which constantly surrounds us – so thanks for your post today – it serves as a reminder to me to just sit and take in the chaos I have around me and breathe.

    I am truely grateful for a husband who doesn’t question me ( much) about the time I spend writing – especially as I don’t earn a cent from it. I am thankful for kids who understand the look I get when I am in the zone and then turn around and find something to play with until I get the crazed look out of my eyes.

    I am thankful that my husband earns enough so that I don’t have to go to work in order for our house to keep functioning. It gets interesting sometimes – but we all cope.

    Over 15 years ago, when my hubby and I set off for our adventures to live in the UK, we made a pact not to live in regret. I sincerely hope that I have kept my end of the bargain. Don’t pass an opportunity or you’ll tourment yourself with ‘what if..”

    I have seized the moment so many times, I think when it turns up it goes pale and begins to run the other way.

    Live and love life to the fullest.

  2. September 17, 2009 12:55 pm

    I’m right there with ya, Andrea! I’m turning 26 next Tuesday and I’ve been having a hard time with it. I’m not where I imagined myself to be in my life–goals-wise, career-wise, financially, locationally. But I am in a really good place because I’m continually facing challenges and I’m continually growing.

    I’m thankful for my family and friends, my boyfriend, my writing career and having the ability to do what I love every single day.

    For things I want to work on for the coming year, that would be:

    –become more grateful
    –write fiction more often
    –finish my next novel
    –promote the hell out of my current novel (which is coming out in February)

    Thanks for this post!

  3. kajoemanis permalink
    September 17, 2009 3:35 pm

    Hey Andrea, happy birthday!

    Your post was really touching. Thank you for reminding all of us to be grateful.

    Life has been shaking me back and forth up and down for the last one and half year, pushing me to work almost 24/7 that I don’t have much time to write lately. However, I’m grateful to still be able to feel grateful.

    Now let me count my blessings more. I’m thankful for my 19-month-old son and my husband. My son’s growing each day and he keeps leaving me in awe. Despite the fact that he has to more time with his nanny because I have to work, he understands me completely and soothes my guilty feelings with his unconditional love. As for my husband. He keeps encouraging me to keep on writing. He also doesn’t mind to take care of my son when I have the urge for moving my pens at anytime.

    Still, I have more and more things to be grateful for. I feel grateful for the time I have – even it’s only for minutes long – to write, my friends who make me laugh (I personally think they’re godsends), jobs to keep my butter and bread and love from others.

    Now as I try to live life to the fullest, I want to start doing my personal linguistic research, make a collection of short fictions done and get them published in one book, get my writing club active again and write more and more!

Comments are closed.

