Skip to content

Walking the Path

October 1, 2009

One of the things I love about writing is the ability to create characters and put them through all kinds of horrors without, in most cases, legal consequences. The impossible can become possible. Vampires can stop being the dark monsters from your nightmares to heroes. Killers can return from their graves as often as you choose. There are no limits.

However, the problem I have always had involved the mechanics of writing. I like the freedom of just writing about whatever I want but when it gets to the point of breaking it all down, my eyes tend to glaze over a bit. In school, I had the pesky bad habit of rushing through my work and not double checking my answers. I made the good grades but some could have been better if I had put more effort in to spotting my mistakes. This habit has carried on to my writing. Receiving the rejection letters which state “Good but not good enough” can be a bit disheartening but can raise the level of determination.

Part of walking the path of a writer is putting in the hard work. Reading a piece over and over correcting the grammar or plot errors. Not settling for mediocre. It’s a lesson I’m still learning.

Andrea admits to putting her writing aside to enjoy the birth of her new niece, Jessa! WooHoo!!
One Comment
  1. October 1, 2009 3:49 pm

    I think there are a lot of us learning this lesson still, despite years of practice.

    I have found that sometimes it is important to have a trusted friend or associate do a few passes with the red pen, looking for those plotline mistakes, grammar errors and typos. But you need to make sure that you can trust, without a doubt, that this person will be blunt and honest with you and will tell you when something stinks or when something needs to be reworked. If you can’t be sure that your friend will be blunt, then he or she is not the right person.

    I find that it is often hardest to keep working through the writing process alone — when you are reading and re-reading so many times that you get bored with it. I had this happen with a story I wrote some time ago and it got to a point where I found it so boring that I thought I would just throw it away because no one would possibly ever want to read it! Instead, I set it aside for a while, several months. When I came across it again and read it, it was not bad. I handed it to my friend and she gave me the critical bits I needed to complete the next phase of editing it.

Comments are closed.

