Skip to content

Holiday Season

October 15, 2009

It seems NaNoWriMo is monopolizing some of Write Anything’s focus. I figured we could all use a little break. I know I do and Nano hasn’t even started yet. My mom recently rejoined the workforce. She came home one day and said Kohl’s is already putting out all their Christmas merchandise. It’s obviously a tradition among all retail stores. It never hurts to start shopping for Christmas gifts early. But if you’re not a writer, what is the perfect gift for a writer?

I don’t like asking for stuff or making list but eventually get pressured in to it. I don’t ask for books anymore. My parents ideal book store is Walmart. I either buy them myself or check them out at the local library. When it comes to something to support my writing, I never know what to ask for. There was an article in the latest edition of Writer’s Digest where WD staff members offer gift suggestions for the holiday season.

Jane Friedman’s , publisher and editorial director, advice are personalized note cards. Jessica Strawser, WD editor, suggest a book along with a cozy throw and either hot chocolate mix, a tea sampler or a bottle of wine. A good gift for a winter evening at home. Alice Pope, WD Market Books managing editor, recommends the perfect gift for the more tech savvy writer: the iPhone 3GS. This little gadget features a voice recorder, notebook, a camera, video camera, the internet and tons of apps, including dictionaries, thesauruses and e-readers. May be a little on the expensive side but sounds like a good investment. Zachary Petit, WD Managing editor, suggests the perfect book for a writer on the road. Novel Destinations by: Shannon McKenna Schmidt and Joni Rendoris is a travel guide that ventures in to all the literary corners. If you’re looking for something on the cheaper side, try a bulletin board. Kelly Nickell, WD Books executive editor says its great for the more visual writers.

I think WD staffers came up with some great ideas but I’m sure there are more. What do you think is the perfect gift for a writer?

Andrea already can’t wait until Nano is over. Before you know it, Christmas will be here. Then the year 2010 is just around the corner. Where does the time go?
6 Comments
  1. October 15, 2009 6:11 pm

    A laptop.

  2. October 15, 2009 10:38 pm

    Bulletin board sounds cool. I think I’ll be asking for Mac gear this year after buying my new Mac soon.

  3. October 16, 2009 8:46 am

    a netbook 😀

  4. October 18, 2009 12:54 pm

    A pocket-sized Moleskine, unlined. For those ideas that come to you while in the supermarket queue, doctor’s waiting room, traffic jam, dinner party…

  5. October 20, 2009 4:21 pm

    Thanks for mentioning the gift round-up from the magazine! I think Moleskine is the big one I’d add (as Dusty Muffin mentions). I have about a dozen of all sizes lying around my office, apartment, and inside bags.

    Another classy gift I love: poetry broadsides. You can find an awesome collection here:
    http://www.centerforbookarts.org/bookstore/broadside/

    (But just Google “poetry broadsides” or “letterpress poetry broadsides”.)

    I’ve also listed some other ideas over at my blog:
    http://blog.writersdigest.com/norules/2009/10/01/GiftIdeasForWriters.aspx

  6. October 27, 2009 12:54 am

    Jane has a good one, the stationary. I have gorgeous personalized stationary, but it is from before I changed my last name.

    Pens are also wonderful, as are gift cards for office supply stores – yes it’s practical, but do you know how much (gulp) paper and ink your favorite writer goes through in a year? (As a note, I do recycle everything, but I have to have a hard copy when I edit my work).

    Another great writer’s gift – a good quality leather journal. We lug those things around with us. I’ve had many a journal go out on me.

    Literary magazine subscriptions are nice, as are a writer’s care package (still the best writing gift I’ve received.) It was a basket that had coffee, hot cocoa, two different types of note pads, pens, two journals, sticky notes, post cards, envelopes and stamps. Very very cool. (In fact, so cool now that I’m remembering it that I’m contemplating this as a possible side business…)

Comments are closed.

