Skip to content

Checking In

November 24, 2009

For internet-related reasons today’s post will be a short one.

With a bit less than a week remaining in the month of NaNo I’ve started to see the occasional trumpet of success and wail of despair from those who have attempted the masochistic endeavor. Although I am a conscientious objector to this year’s event I’m still interested to hear how others are doing—not just against the standard 50k goal, but also against their own expectations. And even more importantly, I’d like to know how their stories have met their expectations.

So here’s your chance to crow, brag, wail or whimper:

How is your NaNo going?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Wishes all of his NaNoWriMo-afflicted friends continued good luck and solid word counts.
3 Comments
  1. November 24, 2009 6:04 am

    Let’s just say – on Sunday I jettisoned 37,000 words to start over because I made a crucial plotting mistake way back on the very first day. A sliding doors moment if there ever was one. So I got to resurrect two characters I killed, only to rekill one I loved most (but he was always going to die so I just had to get over it)

    Now I feel as though I have found my story again. How easy it was to get lost – to lose my original premise, white girl, meets blue boy and falls in love – then it all goes pear shaped.

    I’ve got over the 50K line but it feel very hollow this year. I wanted to finish my novel – and I’m far far far from doing that. I wanted to establish a sensible and sustainable writing routine – a week of gastro threw that out mid month.

    But all in all, have learnts lots, written lots and will definitely be doing it all again next year – but not this same story. A new and exciting one – thank you very much.

    Thanks for the chance to vent. Sounds like your internet and mine are playing tag team!

  2. Tiffy permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:12 am

    I was going really strong, everything was great and I enjoyed the story. But then, I got to 23k words and I realized I didn’t want to write anymore. Why? Because I hated the fact of how… much it was imitating the manga that I was taking the inspiration from (Skip Beat) and I wanted an original story, not some half-disguised fan-fiction.

    But I kept writing anyway, though the numbers drastically dropped off since that day. I still like the story and the characters though, so that makes it up for it.

  3. November 26, 2009 4:20 pm

    I am so far behind that I don’t know if I can catch up. More importantly, my love of the story has dissappeared, and I’m plagued with doubt. I had limited time to write this month so I did most of the work on Write or Die and what I have is…nothing I’m proud of. I had hoped to get my book finishe this month, at least a very rough draft, and I don’t feel like I’m anywhere near the end. I’ve lost the thread and I don’t know how to get it back.

Comments are closed.

