Skip to content

A Mother’s Point of View

December 17, 2009

In the spirit of the theme, I’m handing the reigns over to my mom this week. Please welcome Kita with open arms.

My life living with a writer…hmm…I am Andrea’s mother. So of course my views will be bias. I have watched her grow day by day, year by year in to any aspiring young writer. My husband Alan and I have tried our best over the years to encourage her in every way in regards to her wanting to be a writers. When Andrea first told us that she wanted to be a writer we were like okay go for it!

Knowing my daughter and knowing from experience that she always excels in anything that she has every done, I knew she would excel in this as well. My only concern was that she has not been out of the house in over six years. Now when I say she has not been out of the house, I mean has not been out of my driveway to a store or anywhere in public. My idea of a great writer is a person with whom well draw on their ideas on their everyday lives, right? They draw on things that have happened to them in everyday events, everyday life experiences. Things that they learn, see and feel. Although my one wish for her is to go out in to the everyday world to see the good and bad and maybe one of those days she will do just that for me and herself.

But for now I am just happy to have her here and happy. And Ms. Andrea has really proven me wrong to a certain point once again. When she first started out, she was very guarded about letting me read her stories. One Christmas, as a gift, Andrea gave me one of her stories. To me that was the most precious gift I had received that year to which I still have it tucked away. While reading the story I was amazed at how far she had came in such a short time! Although she is a very quiet and private person her imagination has no bounds. I have no doubt that I may have another Stephen King in the making.

Maybe that is a mother talking but hey I did give birth to her and I have a right to be proud. Andrea has always managed to put a smile on my face when she is around. her attention to detail is one I hope she will keep close to herself. I know one day despite the heartaches of being rejected on many of the times she has submitted story after story I just hope she will never give up no matter what because I have every faith that she will become a great and will known author!

One Comment
  1. December 17, 2009 7:27 am

    hi there and welcome to the site – thanks for sharing your thoughts and giving us an insight into Andreas head…

Comments are closed.

