Skip to content

Something I Lack

December 22, 2009

A few weeks ago a couple of the writers here decided that this week would be devoted to talking about our holiday traditions. Ever since that decision I’ve been wondering what I would write about. For although I do celebrate Christmas, I don’t have anything I would call a tradition.

As I child we didn’t even do much decorating for the holidays, because we spent them at my grandparent’s house 250 miles away. Now in the last few years, I’ve got a whole host of Christmas traditions to follow, and while they’re great, they’re just not my traditions. My fiancee grew up in a house where Christmas was very scripted. The mother had a routine that she would adhere to every year, a routine that was great fun for the kids. So, remembering how much fun she had as a child Jeni has worked to bring that same Christmas to her kids. And I’m happy to help her do it. But these traditions aren’t mine and they even after five years they still don’t feel like mine.

This doesn’t make the holidays any less fun for me. In fact, it’s kind of fun to see how others celebrate, and to join in with their traditions.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

I hope each of our readers, as well as the other writers here at Write Anything, have a wonderful holiday season, however they choose to celebrate.
One Comment
  1. December 23, 2009 8:21 pm

    You know – the wonderful thing about traditions – is that you have the choice to create them – right now… this is what we have done – Just decided what we want Chrstmas to be and have – and we have created that… a tradition to me is something that you say “oh we always…….” whatever…. argue? sit and watch telly? throw snowballs? Its what you make of it……

    enjoy your creating Dale… I look forward to hearing what your traditions morph into for next year.

Comments are closed.

