Skip to content

Writers, a breed apart

January 6, 2010

Earlier this week, Paul posed a poignant question regarding the identity of the artist  which struck a deep cord within me.  Although his post then focused on other subjects, it was the image of the writer, pacing the floor whilst chaos surrounded them and they, so deep in thought and frustration, disconnected; remained unable to see any of it; which stayed with me.

We writers are a breed apart. For the most, every moment in our everyday life offers  the opportunity to explore characters, settings or plot diversions. Even when personal disaster besets us, a tiny voice whispers, “I can use this in the next chapter….”

A little while back, I wrote about the benefits of guest writing, welcoming potential writers to submit a post which would either  relate to the journey of a writer or with insights into styles or techniques. I’d like to take this opportunity to introduce Anne Whitaker as a guest writer today. She  writes of an experience which leave little doubt will heavily influence her work in the future. It also points out that  even in the midst of crisis, the writers mind is always switched on. I wonder if I would react with such grace as she did in her situation.

Particularly at this time of year, when most others are attempting to set yearly goals or resolutions, we are surrounded by the fresh possibilities of the new year and are forced to look at how we spend our precious time in the past with the opportunity now before us to alter add or change the course we have set.  My anti resolutions apart, my yearly theme and goals have not yet solidified. I believe I will follow Jodi in breaking tradition with the date to set resolutions and wish Anne the best with her year to come.

Add to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Annie Evett Wonders if you’d like to read ten fantastic short stories, from ten incredible writers, collected in one amazing anthology?  OF COURSE you would. Pop over to  Chinese Whisperings: The Red Book, available now as an eBook, and coming soon in Spring 2010 as a paperback. Follow Annie here on Twitter and catch her growing amount of websites and blogs here
5 Comments
  1. January 6, 2010 1:10 am

    It is tough being a writer…because you see things like “struck a deep cord” and then you think, “wait–I think she means ‘stuck a deep chord’ because a deep cord would be weird…like a nerve? The writer struck a deep nerve?”

    I resolve to keep these thoughts to myself in the future.🙂

  2. January 7, 2010 10:22 am

    I think, a deep chord would indicate that it was in some way musical, lyrical or pleasant (well- in my mind in any case.) nope it wasn’t musical or pleasant… Pauls comment struck a deep cord – like an unbreakable tendon which keeps this house of cards up… only just…. cut or struck me deep….

  3. January 7, 2010 11:41 am

    Fine, we’ll let Google decide.
    Struck a Cord: 2,030,000 results
    Struck a Chord: 2,760,000 results

    So Chord is ahead by a bit. However, when you look at the results…the “definitions” of “struck a cord” redirects you to “struck a chord”

    So going back to your metaphor, maybe what you really want is “struck a dissonant chord.”

    But we’re writers and we can write whatever we want🙂

  4. January 7, 2010 11:49 am

    Sorry, I did my Google search wrong, I needed to add quotes for exact matches:
    “struck a cord” – 134,000
    “struck a chord” – 5,110,000

    So it’s much, much more in favor of Chord.
    And if we add “deep”:

    “struck a deep cord” – 31,000
    “struck a deep chord” – 499,000

    Just sayin’😉

  5. January 8, 2010 8:11 am

    LOL!! what a crack up! I didn’t realise that this was actually serious and you were so concerned about it!!! alrighty – whatever! snigger….
    I still meant the same thing…
    PS delighted that someone takes me seriously here. thanks for dropping by and commenting… a number of times

Comments are closed.

