Skip to content

The Clicks

February 25, 2010

A couple of weeks ago, I shared one of my wonderful rejections with the forum members of Absolute Write. One of their responses got me thinking. How many magazines/ezines favor one or more writers over all others?

How many times have you read issues of a magazine you plan to submit to and find they publish work by the same writers? Is it because they produce better stories/poems? Or is there a sense of favoritism? This isn’t a new issue among workplaces. One of the processes of writing is submitting you work to one or more editors. It is because of their expertise and/or opinion that deems your story/poem right for their publication. So, is writing exempt from favoritism?

I never thought I would ever knowingly be involved with such a thing. That was before I was updating my website. I noticed something quite interesting while reorganizing my publication credits. The first time I received a taste of publishing gold was in 2005. Most of what I achieved during that year was centered around the writing friends I had made. I had stories win small writing website contests judged by them. My first publication was accepted by a ezine run by one of them. Several of my first credits came from them. Is it because they knew me and was willing to publish my work over a writer they hadn’t heard of? Is it because my writing was better than some of the submissions they received? I can honestly say probably not.

I don’t know if my small success in 2005 had anything to do with favoritism. I may never know. Do you think favoritism exists among the writing world?

Andrea wants to believe editors are completely unbiased but deep down knows there’s probably a little floating around.
2 Comments
  1. Luna permalink
    February 25, 2010 2:01 am

    Where I’m from, writing fiction is not entirely new, but there’s not a lot of writers in that genre, specifically under the fantasy/sci-fi (or speculative fiction, if you will) banner. In the last five years, various anthologies have come up, asking for submissions but yearly, it’s the same people who get published. Either 1) they’re really good, 2) the editors are biased, 3) not a lot of people are submitting, or 4) even if there are a lot, the quality of their writing isn’t up to par, hence, it falls back to picking who already passed the standards.

    Favoritism exists, I’m sure, but I’m also positive that editors are keeping an eye out for writers who have something new to offer. Whether it’s a new insight or a writing style, who knows?

  2. adampb permalink
    February 25, 2010 8:47 pm

    Perhaps social networking is another form of “favouritism” that allows authors to become a known entity. In this interconnected world, exploring new avenues of connection may assist in becoming published.

Comments are closed.

