Skip to content

[Fiction] Friday #144

February 26, 2010

Fiction Friday

[Fiction] Friday Challenge #144 for February 26th, 2010

The bag was empty except for a smudged, slip of paper which said, “Sorry.”


How Fiction Friday works

 

Fiction Friday is easy to do.

  • Check this page for this week’s theme or challenge. Prompts are published each month to give you plenty of notice.
  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge.
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog.
  • Then come back to Write Anything and leave the link in the comment section below.

If you’re participating in the Write Anything meme, please leave a link to your entry below. (If you’re not participating, please don’t leave a link. People who aren’t playing will be removed). Please don’t forget to leave us a comment in addition to leaving a link!

You might also like to Tweet links from this site as they are posted.

[Fiction] Friday Participants

1. Adam Byatt #1
2. Adam Byatt #2
3. Annie Evett
4. M. D. Benoit
5. Benjamin Solah
6. ~willow~
7. Chris Chartrand
8. Terry Haferkamp
9. Julie Jordan Scott
10. Icy Sedgwick
11. Liz Allen
12. Leah Saylor-Abney
13. NewToWritingGirl

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

If you’d like to participate further, just go visit some of the other links left by other participants, read what they wrote, and leave a comment. Just be sure that your comment is constructive—this is, after all, a meme to give us all a little writing practice.

Want more information? Visit the Fiction Friday page.

Technorati tags: ,

9 Comments
  1. adampb permalink
    February 26, 2010 12:31 am

    Well, after last week’s faux pas of posting to the prompt one week early, here are my two drafts. Is that cheating to have done two? Nah, I’m sure it isn’t🙂
    Looking forward to see what other gems people have thought up.

  2. February 26, 2010 6:36 am

    Haven’t done these in a long time, but I suddenly had the urge:

    http://mdbenoit.com/blog/2010/02/26/fiction-friday-sorry/

  3. February 26, 2010 6:51 am

    Not quite sure what my piece means, but here it is http://www.benjaminsolah.com/blog/?p=1997

  4. February 26, 2010 12:31 pm

    My first attempt at fiction in years. Glad to join you all for Fiction Friday – which I combined with Flash Friday… hope that is ok!

  5. February 26, 2010 1:58 pm

    Thrown together too fast and needs the rough edges polished but I had fun with it. I’m sorry! Check it out if you dare. http://terryhaferkamp.squarespace.com/you-dont-have-to-say-your-sorr/

  6. February 26, 2010 7:30 pm

    I scribbled the below tale in my notebook last night then typed it up this evening. I had to fight my inner critic, who wanted to edit, and my muse, who wanted to add, while doing so.

    There’s definitely room for huge improvements and I welcome all critiques … as long as they’re disguised as praise. Just kidding! Though I do prefer constructive criticism to “You suck…Never write again” type crits.

    This is the first time I’ve EVER shared my stories outside of university or close friends and, I must admit, it’s scary.

    “Hindsight” (1,300 words)

  7. February 27, 2010 6:15 am

    I posted mine a little late as I was out the house all day yesterday, still did it then though – on the tube. See my dedication🙂

  8. adampb permalink
    February 27, 2010 9:39 pm

    In reading all the different posts, there are some that are the kernel of a longer piece, perhaps even a novel, while mine tend to be self contained pieces. Might have to work on leaving things open ended.

  9. Devin Watson permalink
    February 27, 2010 9:57 pm

    Here’s mine for #144 – http://www.moviepartners.com/blog/2010/02/27/fiction-friday-for-february-26-2010/

Comments are closed.

