Skip to content

Ask and Answer #7

February 27, 2010

Let’s play an ask and answer game.

Here’s how it works:

The person before you has asked a question, please answer that question and then ask a question for the next person to answer. That’s it!

Please, keep it impersonal and ask fun questions.

Got it? Good. Now let’s play:

Question for the first person:

Do you read the inside flaps that describe a book before or while reading it?

*Question obtained from the Booking Through Thursday meme.

6 Comments
  1. February 27, 2010 11:54 am

    Before. How else would I know if I wanted to read the book? Titles are almost as misleading as genres, so I read the blurb inside the jacket or on the back cover. Then I read a page or two of the first chapter and make my decision on whether to commit to the whole book.

    Next Question: “If you had advance warning about being stranded on an island, what book would you take with you?”

    You can only choose one.

  2. adampb permalink
    February 27, 2010 3:50 pm

    Taking a slightly oblique angle to the question, I would take a note book and make sure I had a pen or 100.
    One book is almost too difficult. I’d take my Lord of the Rings omnibus (that’s cheating too, I know).

    Next Question: “Do you have a commitment to reading a book all the way through or will you give it up after a certain number of pages if it doesn’t grab you?”

  3. February 27, 2010 9:01 pm

    Years ago, Adam West starred in a series of promo’s for TV Land, with the tag line, “Life is too short to watch crap.” That holds true for books as well. If I am reading a book that doesn’t engage me, entertain me or leave me caring about the characters, I put it down. My to be read pile is too high, and I keep adding to it.

    Next question: Which is more difficult, starting a new notebook or filling the last 16 pages?

  4. February 27, 2010 10:18 pm

    Oh for me def filling the last few pages. I have loads of notebooks only half full – gotten sick of them and started new ones. THough now reflecting I also have a half dozen beautiful note books – leather bound or very pretty ones which I have kept as I ‘don’t want to mess them up” – or that “they are too nice to write in.” daaahhhhh……
    heres my question.

    ” What is your writers candy-floss?” (i.e what do you either write or read which has either little redeeming features, but it give your mind a little holiday?)

  5. February 27, 2010 11:00 pm

    My candyfloss is Anne McCaffrey novels. Trash, but very satisfying🙂

    My question: Who do you hide your writing from? Who doesn’t know that you are a writer?

  6. February 28, 2010 3:14 pm

    A: I hide my writing from nearly everyone. Well, it’s not hiding…I just haven’t bothered to tell them!

    Q: Is ‘Fan Fiction’ a legitimate for of writing? Or is it for people who can’t vreate their own characters?

Comments are closed.

