Skip to content

National Grammar Day

March 4, 2010

Today is National Grammar Day hosted by GrammarGirl and the Society for the Promotion of Good Grammar. This day is set aside for people like me to brush up on all the grammar rules. The ones I probably break without even realizing: dangling participles, ending sentences with prepositions, and split infinitives. I’m a total grammar slob.

In the spirit of the day, I’ve put together a little grammar quiz. I’m sure I’m not the only one in the universe who has been grammar procrastinating. There are only five questions, all multiple choice. Leave a comment with your answers. Check back at 1pm Central to see how well you did.

1. You do not always use “a” before consonants.

a) Yes
b) No
c) I don’t know

2. The subject and verb must agree.

a) Yes
b) No
c) I don’t know

3. Is this sentence correct: At six years old, my mom taught me to cook.

a) Yes
b) No
c) I don’t know

4.You should always split infinitives.

a) Yes
b) No
c) I don’t know

5. Choose the correct pronouns to fill in the blanks: There is a strong bond between __ and __.

a) he/I
b) him/me
c) I don’t know

Andrea plans to read up on grammar rules. It’s long overdo.
8 Comments
  1. March 4, 2010 6:03 am

    Ugh, I may be wrong. But I answer:
    1. a
    2. a
    3. b
    4. b
    5. a
    Well, I guess I’ll see if I’m right or wrong, but considering my native language is Swedish I’m happy if I get 3/5 right. So let’s hope I do.🙂

  2. March 4, 2010 9:34 am

    1. yes
    2. yes
    3. no
    4. no
    5. b – though I’m not 100% sure – things like this is always a bit tricky

    I think I’m only got 2/5 right

  3. March 4, 2010 5:43 pm

    National Grammar Day was a worldwide trending topic on Twitter today http://bit.ly/9Tl8dd

  4. March 4, 2010 6:14 pm

    Funnily enough, I was teaching year fours ( I am a relief teacher) and we reviewed some of the basic grammar rules… oh boy – are they rusty in my head. I need to check out grammar girls site!

  5. March 4, 2010 6:30 pm

    I got fifteen points. Yay!

  6. March 5, 2010 4:49 pm

    I got 14. Better than I had hoped!😀

  7. Fredy Marroquin-Rodriguez permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:31 pm

    Very clever, I think that I have found something that I really like. FINALLY!!!

Comments are closed.

