Skip to content

[Fiction] Friday #158

June 4, 2010

Fiction Friday

[Fiction] Friday Challenge #158 for June 4th, 2010

A Coming of Age Tale


How Fiction Friday works

Fiction Friday is easy to do.

  • Check this page for this week’s theme or challenge. Prompts are published each month to give you plenty of notice.
  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge.
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog.
  • Then come back to Write Anything and leave the link in the comment section below.

If you’re participating in the Write Anything meme, please leave a link to your entry below. (If you’re not participating, please don’t leave a link. People who aren’t playing will be removed). Please don’t forget to leave us a comment in addition to leaving a link!

You might also like to Tweet links from this site as they are posted – and don’t forget to use our hashtag of #fictionfriday

If you’d like to participate further, just go visit some of the other links left by other participants, read what they wrote, and leave a comment. Just be sure that your comment is constructive—this is, after all, a meme to give us all a little writing practice.

Want more information? Visit the Fiction Friday page.

Technorati tags: 

7 Comments
  1. adampb permalink
    June 4, 2010 1:53 am

    Gone with a slightly different coming of age tale. All I’ll say is that it involves the beige phase of life.

  2. June 4, 2010 3:23 am

    I really enjoyed writing for this prompt. I started on Monday and the whole thing just kept growing. I ended up posting a small section every day this week on my blog, building up to this final section, which I think can stand alone.

    I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s entry.

  3. June 4, 2010 8:05 am

    This weeks prompt took some work to get going. I couldn’t come up with an idea that I was happy with until the last minute, then I wound up changing it before hitting the publish button. All in all, I’m happy with the direction it took.

  4. June 4, 2010 9:29 am

    I had alot of fun with this but had trouble deciding which way to take the ending. I didn’t want to kill off Grandpa. Hope this ending meets your expectations.
    http://terryhaferkamp.squarespace.com/the-great-circle-ceremony/

  5. June 4, 2010 10:39 am

    It took me a while to get any ideas at all, but after a bit of internet searching got an idea. Not all that happy with it, but I got 1000+ words, so that must be good. Hope you enjoy it!

  6. June 4, 2010 5:23 pm

    http://terryhaferkamp.squarespace.com/crimes-and-misdemeanors/
    I actually wrote this for another prompt about crimes and misdemeanours but it seemed to go so well with the end of life / coming of age theme so many of you have been posting. It was not intended to spark any political or ethical views. For entertainment purposes only.

  7. June 4, 2010 6:45 pm

    I decided to go short and sweet on this one, just three paragraphs.

Comments are closed.

