Skip to content

Your Beginning

June 24, 2010

Your writing journey began somewhere. Not so much when you completed the first slanted line in a capital “A”. It began the day you sat down with an idea in your head and the ambition to form characters and plot. Or make your argument for or against a particular topic.

Before the 4th grade, my little talent dealt with numbers. In Kindergarten, I wrote out my numbers on sheets of paper, 0 to 600. No one asked me to complete such a feat. I did it on my own and got my gold stars for my teacher. About four years later, it took the lack of participants in a contest to turn my attention on to something more thrilling. One essay about what gifts I would give to the world, if I could, earned me a nice green 6th place ribbon. I kept feeding my writing bug over the years but not in any public forum until after high school.

We all remember fondly the first day we put pen to paper, creating our first masterpiece. It may not be one others appreciate, but its one you can look back on and smile. What was the first piece you ever wrote? How much of it influenced the writer you’ve become? If you could go back in time and do it over, would you? Why?

Andrea hasn’t written many essays since the very first but doesn’t regret her introduction in to the writing world.
3 Comments
  1. June 24, 2010 5:33 am

    I have a small collection from when I first started going to college over ten years ago; I used to have some from my high school years but they are long since gone. I’m not sure when I lost them. My first foray in the writing world stemmed from an eleventh grade English assignment. We had to write a poem. I had never written anything before and was much surprised to find my teacher came to me and asked me if she could print it in the school newspaper. I do still have that one poem and look back on it fondly.
    After high school I took a two or three year hiatus and started writing again briefly in college. The college stint lasted only a short while as well and I took another hiatus … of over ten years. I didn’t start writing again until 2008; it was at the behest of my (now late) grandmother that I start again. As a result, I dedicated my first book to her.
    If I had the chance to do it all over again, I would have began refining my craft earlier in life. It’s never too late to start though. Right?

  2. June 24, 2010 1:03 pm

    I can’t remember when I first started writing but I do remember a time when I was around 10 years old and I wrote a very personal story and hid it in a Pringles can in the rafters of my closet. I didn’t want my Mother to find it because writing/reading/education, in my family, was considered a waste of time and I knew she would make fun of me. I used to take that story out of the can every day and look at it – it was the first thing I had ever written that I was proud of and I would read it to myself each day to remember what it felt like to do good work.

    I don’t know when I stopped taking the can down but I think it coinsided with a long pause in my writing life. I often wonder if it’s still up there in the rafters waiting for me to come and take it down?

  3. June 24, 2010 1:22 pm

    How interesting that you posted this today. It’s so relevant to what I’ve been thinking about lately.

    My first writer experience was in the fifth grade. We were given an assignment to write a poem, and the teacher asked me to submit mine to a regional contest, which I won. It started my lifelong love/hate relationship with poetry in which I’m convinced I’m a fiction writer, but as far as anyone else is concerned, I’m a poet.

    If I could go back in time . . . I’m not sure. I probably would have pushed myself harder, written more, etc, but I don’t know too many writers who don’t feel that way.

Comments are closed.

