Skip to content

A Perfect Day

July 1, 2010

What would you consider a perfect, productive day in your writing world? Is coffee involved? Or perhaps you’re a tea drinker. How much writing do you complete to feel satisfied? Is editing or reading involved in this perfect day?

I had to really think about this one. If someone were to have asked me this question yesterday, I probably would have answered with something like “If I write anything, it’s a good day”. Today’s answer is much different. A perfect day in my office/bedroom begins with a small glass of chocolate milk (not a coffee drinker and winged myself off of ice tea years ago. Must have caffeine from somewhere). This is proceeded by daily dose of reading whatever book off one of my bookshelves.

Then comes a few hours of editing followed by writing a few hundred words on whatever short story I’m working on (a thousand words constitutes as a GREAT day). The last task of the day is constructing posts on the various blogs I maintain or participate in (between one and three per day). If I manage to finish all of this on my agenda by 10pm, it’s a perfect day.

My routines have never been on the picky side. There are very few consistencies I need to be a happy girl. I’ve come to rely on one simple thing: myself. What would you consider to be a perfect day in your office? Worst?

Andrea has had a very good week concerning writing. Been more productive than previous weeks.
2 Comments
  1. July 1, 2010 1:08 am

    The perfect writing day for me involves not leaving the house, which is rare. It involves blogging and conversation alongside a couple of thousand words – and maybe some reading or editing.

  2. July 2, 2010 5:07 pm

    It used to be that for me to consider a writing day successful, I had to complete something. A short story, a poem, a lousy limerick… whatever… it just had to be completed, whether it was good or bad. I used to be able to do this almost daily, or at a minimum four or five times per week. Now that I’m older, busier and a parent, meaning I typically have less time than I’d like to have, I count it as a win if I write anything at all.

    In my mind, I envision a perfect writing day as involving a nice pot of coffee, some chips, pretzels or crunchy veggies, some good music playing in the background and me writing or typing a few hundred to a few thousand words (because when I’m “on”, I can type two to three thousand words an hour). The location in which I do this does not matter to me at all… In a coffee shop, in my basement office, at the dining room table or sitting on a street corner — it’s all the same to me.

Comments are closed.

