Skip to content

Do You Read Reviews?

July 29, 2010

Last week, I had a conversation with a soon-to-be family member on Facebook. This discussion soon led to the few book review requests I’ve received this year. I found it interesting when she asked what a book review is. This person is as much of an avid reader as I am and yet unfamiliar of reviews. My initial thought was ” what avid reader hasn’t read at least one review prior to buying a book”.

I’ve always viewed book reviews as a key marketing tool in order to generate good buzz about the latest releases. I’ll admit I don’t read reviews as much as some do. I usually rely on opinions from those I trust. However, since being acquired to write some, I’ve come to rely on them more and more for an inform decision.

I allowed one conversation to illicit doubt in their power. Books written by well know authors and published by major publishing companies may never have this problem. But what about those produced by lesser known publishers? Marketing becomes even more essential. How often do you buy a book written by a less established author and published on a smaller scale? Do you rely on book reviews even more in such cases? Approximately how many times in a month do you refer to a review site or newspaper? What do you look for in a quality review?

Andrea feels privileged to have authors trust her opinion about their books. Has a list of several books waiting to be reviewed for Ghost Stories.
13 Comments
  1. July 31, 2010 11:08 am

    As a book review writer, I’d like to think that my reviews don’t give away anything that would spoil the enjoyment of the book for the reader. The goal is to highlight elements of the book that will be useful to someone looking for the right book for them to read. It is a tricky business to provide critical analysis without giving the plot away or ruining the spontaneity of the book, but I do rely on the opinion of others to help me decide which book to read, film to see or music to buy, given that there is so much available to us. Fortunately, I only review books that I whole-heartedly recommend. It is so much nicer to be enthusiastic about a work than to have the unpleasant task of tearing it apart. If you would like to see reviews of current books that we endorse, you can visit The Current Reader.

  2. July 31, 2010 11:09 am

    Great subject, Andrea!

  3. August 4, 2010 5:38 am

    I don’t read reviews because I don’t necessarily have the same taste as the person reviewing. I also like to make my own opinion of things rather than be pushed in one direction or another.

Comments are closed.

