Skip to content

The Antidote to Wannabe’s Apathy and Laze

August 3, 2010

This is pure serendipity. Dale is caught in ISP hell so I’m allowed back in from my sabbatical to share something quickly with you on the back of Chris’s fantastic post yesterday about how to kick writer’s laze.

While I was lying in the bath last night trolling through the most current tweets I came across one from Elizabeth Craig linking to Sterling Editing. This was how I learnt all about Laurie Halse Anderson’s writing campaign for August – Write Fifteen Minutes A Day (WFMAD). It’s all about writing reguarly. No ifs. Not buts.

The rules are  simple: Write for fifteen minutes a day, every day in August. No minimum word counts. No sign ups. Just 15 minutes every day. Anderson says its about going “deeper into yourself”.

Why should we bother? After all its is just 15 minutes. Kelley, from Sterling Editing writes:

Writing does not have to be a precious and sacred ritual. It can be a daily task, like washing the dishes (there are times when washing the dishes is more fun — that’s life). The point is, that sometimes we get ourselves believing that we don’t have “enough time” to write; and the result is that we spend no time at all, for weeks or months or years, in writing. No one ever finishes a book by not writing. No one ever learns to be a better writer by sitting around thinking about it. Never.

So… turn off the TV. Turn off the internet. Hide your phone. Start a new routine.

Find a comfortable place to write and set a timer for fifteen minutes. It doesn’t matter what you write, though Anderson does suggest blog writing should not be included in WFMAD. If you’re stuck for ideas Anderson gives you permission to write: “I don’t know what to write and LHA is crazy”. She’s also been gracious enough to provide prompts for all 31 days of August.

Yes, we’re already a few days into August but it doesn’t matter. Our Writer’s Laze doesn’t know, does it? Good bye Laze. Ciao Apathy. Hello Writing.

Image via Dante Ross

Jodi Cleghorn seems to be unable to keep away, despite her best intentions to do so. Right after this posts she’s off to indulge in 15 minutes of writing, then is off to pack for Byron Bay Writers’ Festival tomorrow. Road trip, here she comes! You can find more of Jodi’s musings at Writing in Black and White or audioBoo.
5 Comments
  1. August 4, 2010 5:02 am

    really lazines sucks! I’m in. Though in the month i will be on a tour for few days on and off, I’ll give my best to make out some way to visit this site and check out for the prompt. This is another of the attempts I am putting towards writing, after lots of them earlier. LOL !!

  2. August 4, 2010 6:03 am

    I just did my 15 minutes. This was the perfect motivation to get my new story started. No more excuses of being too busy to write — anyone can get in 15 minutes. Just do it!🙂

  3. August 4, 2010 10:04 am

    NP in August. Then, it’s back to teaching and things fall apart. In fact, I better put a whole lot more than fifteen minutes in if I’m to finish my draft before the kiddies return from summer vacation.

    Gotta go…

  4. August 4, 2010 9:57 pm

    I think I’m comfy with the amount I’m writing, I’ve managed to get every FF done from when I first started, and I blog a bit. Baby steps for me!

  5. August 5, 2010 8:22 am

    I remember in high school that we always had to sit and spend the first ten or fifteen minutes of English class writing in our journals. I always hated it. Loathed it, really. And, many days, it was 15 minutes of writing “I don’t know what to write”. But some days, while it might have started with “I don’t know what to write”, it ended with new story ideas to be fleshed out later that day or the next morning.

    As soon as that stopped being required, I, of course, stopped doing it. Maybe it’s just what I need now, though. I guess we’ll see.

Comments are closed.

